Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Guidelines

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> layout plan terminus, Ventnor Station Isle of Wight
lost track
post 12 Sep 2009, 12:32
Post #1


Guard
***

Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 9-August 09
Member No.: 6,196



using anyrail track designer & a pen,

This is what I am planning to build first huh.gif a 00 scale terminus based on Ventnor station. I figure I will need a working area of approximately 8ft by 4ft.
I eventually plan to link it to a larger layout...I would appreciate any thoughts/ideas.

shaun,

Go to the top of the page
 
+
dwb
post 12 Sep 2009, 12:41
Post #2


Station cat
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 8,199
Joined: 17-January 06
From: Central southern England
Member No.: 507



Do you need to move it around? 8' x 4' is not easily shifted as a single unit.

Four subframes 4' x 2' laid side by side is one way to go but I wonder given the particular topography of Ventnor if an open frame baseboard with non-uniform size might not work better.

This is going to be hard to explain, but I'll try. I'm wondering if the cliffs behind the station could be modelled on a separate baseboard and then dropped into place on the main subframe. This would mean that there would need to be fewer breaks in the cliffs module itself.

David


--------------------
New blog entry - 18th March 2014- Hamburg Miniature Wonderland - Part 10 - The USA The last set of photos taken on a visit to the "World's largest model railway"
Want to post pictures in your posts but don't know how? Instructions can be found in this topic
Almost all the photos I post can be found in my albums. There are 850+ at present. Click the Gallery button to the left of this post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
lost track
post 13 Sep 2009, 00:14
Post #3


Guard
***

Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 9-August 09
Member No.: 6,196



Thanks for the advice dwb smile.gif
I am not entirely sure in my mind yet as to whether I want to recreate a truly authentic real world model ( I did a while ago but it has already been done) or just use the basic track plan and allow myself a more personal layout..( if that makes any sense)..

I do not plan to move the layout, but you never know. So I will certainly be thinking about your advice on 4x2 sub frames when I go shopping for material tomorrow...umm later today huh.gif
If I was to model the cliffs behind the station, including all the coal merchants caves at the base of the quarry, I really like your idea of a separate structure smile.gif

I do have another question and that concerns electrifying the track. I was thinking of using DC rather than digital and I am unsure about the best way to go about making sure power reaches all the track including the turntable. All advice much appreciated

Shaun

Just to add a quick note, on the mainline into the station from the tunnel mouth there was a three way..um split? points system. I have used staggered points as I cant find anything like that made by Hornby in 00 scale. If anybody knows of anything that would be compatible that would be great.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
dwb
post 13 Sep 2009, 09:34
Post #4


Station cat
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 8,199
Joined: 17-January 06
From: Central southern England
Member No.: 507



Wiring for DC operation. You'll get a wide range of replies ranging from full sectional control with wiring as if you're using electro frog points to just adding feeds where you need them.

My preference is for the full sectional wiring approach. It is more trouble to set up in the first place, but once it's done you don't have to play any memory games remembering whether a section is live or dead or how the points need to be set to energise it.

The rule for full sectional wiring is simple - "Only feed power into the single end of a point".

That leaves just two decisions to be made:-

1) Where do I need breaks?
Take a copy of your drawing and a set of coloured markers. Starting at the tunnel end, trace the track with a marker. Each time the track diverges at a point colour each track with a marker. If the marker meets the diverging end of a point, draw a vertical line through the track. This is as far as this feed section can go. Once all the tracks for this marker have vertical lines on them, pick another colour and start as far away from the first marker as you can. For the second one on your plan, begin at the turntable.

Keep on with this method until all the track has been coloured in. The number of colours tells you how many sections you'll need.

Treat the two crossings in the top part of the diagram as back to back points.

2) Where should the breaks go?
That's really up to you. They can go anywhere along the section of track that joins the two opposing points. The precise position will depend on what best matches the kind of train movements you will be performing.


3 way point.
Hornby track is code 100. Peco do a three way point in code 100, so the rail height will match. I have never tried to match up Hornby and Peco track so I don't know if they are good match - the sleeper depth needs to match too. 3 way points are rather too expensive to suggest buying one in the hope that they will work.

Double slips.
You haven't mentioned this, but looking at your diagram the two switching devices in the goods yard area look like crossings which means they are probably double slips in reality. There's a couple of points (sorry, dreadful but accurate pun) to make about this

1) Hornby don't make a double slip

2) Peco do a double slip but it's a lot longer than a Hornby crossing. It's a pricey too and there's a compatibility question which as I've already said, I can't answer.

You may find it easier/more convenient to model the crossing as two points placed back to back


There's no reason why you shouldn't use the plan but set it in a scenic location of your own choosing. As I haven't seen the existing model you mention, the thought of creating a model in a genuinely restricted space is an appealing one. For once a cramped model railway that is accurate and not compromised for size. That's one of the reasons I like Leeds Central.

I'll be interested to see how this develops.

David


--------------------
New blog entry - 18th March 2014- Hamburg Miniature Wonderland - Part 10 - The USA The last set of photos taken on a visit to the "World's largest model railway"
Want to post pictures in your posts but don't know how? Instructions can be found in this topic
Almost all the photos I post can be found in my albums. There are 850+ at present. Click the Gallery button to the left of this post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Rayden500
post 13 Sep 2009, 12:40
Post #5


Fireman
****


Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Aylesbury, Bucks
Member No.: 3,152



Hi lost track.

In response to DWBs comment on compatibillity between hornby and peco track,

I used a mixture of both hornby and peco track on my sons layout. Hornby for the straight and curved track and the points are all peco.

As to my knowledge there is not an issue with compaibility.

We certainly have not had any problems. I must admit tho, that i do prefer to use all peco track on my layouts but that is just me.

Hope this helps.

Mark

Go to the top of the page
 
+
lost track
post 13 Sep 2009, 20:09
Post #6


Guard
***

Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 9-August 09
Member No.: 6,196



Once again David a big thank you for your detailed and clear response it is much appreciated. I will of course keep MRF posted about progress that I make. thumbsup.gif

I had not even considered the double slips so I am very pleased that you spotted that.

Thank you too Mark for clearing up the point about compatibility that is a great help. thumbsup.gif

Shaun


Go to the top of the page
 
+
h&b_barrett
post 13 Sep 2009, 21:45
Post #7


Fireman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 29-May 09
From: Soviet socialist republic of Gwent
Member No.: 5,784



if you want to link your layout with a larger one I would suggest trying to find the old railway modellor which had an article about an IoW layout thats was about 10' by 6' and had representations of the various railways on the IoW.

If you were after something less ambitious I would say Ryde St. Johns would be a good one to have because of the Works and Shed there with a possible short extension to a representation of Pier Head. Alternatively Sandown as the Junction with the IoWC would be a good one too, or Brading with the Bembridge line which adds potential for goods shunting from St Helens Quay.


--------------------
Why yes political correctness I know I have infringed upon your boundaries. So you can fornicate under command of the king over the nearest hill you interlectually challenged individual
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS    Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2014 - 07:08