Reply to this topicStart new topic
> reprogramming dcc locomotives
philip webb
post 23 Oct 2013, 19:29
Post #1

Baggage Porter

Group: Members
Member No.: 12,263

I have a EZ Command Dynamis system and recently was given a couple of dcc fitted locomotives.Unfortunately they were preprogammed and I have no idea of their loco addresses and I am having some difficulty in reprogramming these locos.Is there any way of programming these back to Factory Setting 03 or do I need new decoders.

As I am new to this system I would be grateful for your input.
Go to the top of the page

+
RFS
post 23 Oct 2013, 20:34
Post #2

Station Master

Member No.: 1,748

If you configure the service track as per the Dynamis manual, you can then reset the decoders to factory defaults. Using the service track means you do not need to know the current addresses of the locos.

--------------------

+
34C
post 24 Oct 2013, 07:47
Post #3

In depth idiot

Member No.: 1,818

There's also the 'guess' option which won't do any harm. Many of us use the cabside numbers, just try those. If they are five digit, try with the first or last removed to get down to four...

However, don't let that distract you from setting up the 'service' or 'programme' track, whichever term Bachmann call it. Beyond re-addressing these two locos to a known address, this is the most important part of your DCC system when it comes to a new decoder installation, as it enables safe testing that the decoder has been installed correctly. This is a facility that every DCC set up needs.

+
doggeface
post 4 Nov 2013, 14:46
Post #4

Ticket Collector

Member No.: 373