Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tortoise-style point motors.
Vulcan
post 25 Oct 2008, 10:30
Post #1


Fireman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 23-March 08
From: Staffordshire
Member No.: 2,698



Hello all,

I'm currently still in the planning stages with my new N gauge layout. I'm looking at which point motors to use this time around and have come across Tortoise motors. Has anyone used these with N gauge, specifically with Peco code 55?

Looking at them, they seem to be pretty enormous. I'm concerned that if they were say, mounted on a scissor crossing in N gauge, there might not actual be sufficient room to get the motors mounted next to each other. Also, I only have a baseboard depth of 5-6cm including the frame - the Tortoises will be hanging out of the bottom of the baseboard won't they? That could make placing the trestles I use to support the layout quite tricky.

I'm planning on having some 22 motors spread over the scenic section of the layout - at around 12 a pop I need to know everything is going to fit and work! Is there an alternative to the tortoise that's more appropriate to N gauge?

Thanks!


--------------------
Formerly N Gauge James - but actually called Dan

Layout Progress Thread: Clifton Depot
Go to the top of the page
 
+
upnick
post 25 Oct 2008, 12:42
Post #2


Minister of Transport
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 6,196
Joined: 27-December 07
From: Lancashire
Member No.: 2,300



Hi

Tortoise motors are more protypical in operation but with 22 points to operate on two counts you would be better with either peco motors or seep ones, both being far more economical,

They will fit far neater under the board as well.


--------------------
UPNICK.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm a busy man. I have a railroad to build.

''Building America''


Go to the top of the page
 
+
Lancashire Fusil...
post 25 Oct 2008, 14:26
Post #3


Paul Hamilton aka "Lancashire Fusilier"
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 835
Joined: 8-March 06
From: Perth, Western Australia
Member No.: 609



I beg to differ with the previous advice. a) you can use remote actuation on a tortoise in case things are getting alittle congested and cool.gif purchase them in at least 6 or 12 at a time ex US (good UK to the US$) at the moment and they are an exact match for a peco or seep with accessory switch or under board mounting part too. Trust me, I am decidely tight when it comes to multiple purchases however I have proven it! Besides, I would pay a quid or two not to see my points snap over with a loud Thwack anyway!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Robert Stokes
post 25 Oct 2008, 16:01
Post #4


Station Master
Group Icon

Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,881
Joined: 22-February 07
From: North Lincolnshire
Member No.: 1,541



There are alternatives to the Tortoise motors that work in the same way, i.e. slow action, but are smaller or cheaper or both. The fulgurex (which I have not used) are much smaller and a little cheaper than Tortoise. The Conrad point motor from Germany is much smaller and a lot cheaper (about 5 or less depending on exchange rate). I have used these and they are OK if somewhat delicate. They are unusual in working off AC and having build in diodes. They also use the same sort of switches as Peco types.

I am actually looking to buy ten more of these Conrad motors but don't want to send off to Germany for them. Does anyone know of a place in England where I can get them from? Robert.


--------------------
My layout "Horton-cum-Whinton" is 1950's midland region with Settle and Carlisle flavour.
http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...8&hl=Horton
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Brian Considine
post 26 Oct 2008, 06:59
Post #5


No Longer Active.
Group Icon



Group: Members
Posts: 13,318
Joined: 18-May 06
From: UK Margate Kent
Member No.: 702



QUOTE (Robert Stokes @ 25 Oct 2008, 17:01) *
I am actually looking to buy ten more of these Conrad motors but don't want to send off to Germany for them. Does anyone know of a place in England where I can get them from? Robert.


AFAIK Conrad have an outlet in the UK - the details are "buried" in their website.

Regarding Peco/Seep v slow action if you want extra reliable switching the Fulgurex ones actually work out less than the Peco ones with the extra decent switches.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Rowan
post 26 Oct 2008, 07:35
Post #6


Engine Driver
Group Icon


Group: Plus+
Posts: 511
Joined: 23-April 06
From: Brisbane,Queensland
Member No.: 671



I have not heard of Conrad and can't seem to find them, any one have a link please, thanks.

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+
steam-driven boy
post 26 Oct 2008, 08:46
Post #7


Engine Driver
Group Icon

Group: Plus+
Posts: 678
Joined: 8-October 08
From: Brummieland, ZZ9PluralZAlpha
Member No.: 3,900



Hi, I've been looking at the Hoffman (is this the Conrad under another name?) point motor as I have a similar installation concern on Solsbury Hill.

http://finneyandsmith.co.uk/finneyandsmith/hoffman.htm

The Tortoise does seem to be the unit of choice from comments I've seen posted elsewhere but I intend to try some of these out, if Santa has me on his 'nice' list unsure.gif
If anyone else has any experience of these I'd be glad of a heads-up on that.

Regards.


--------------------
... being a bear of very little brain...

My N Project: 'Solsbury Hill' Track Plan
N Vehicles For 'Solsbury Hill' Solsbury Hill N Gauge WB
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Robert Stokes
post 26 Oct 2008, 12:24
Post #8


Station Master
Group Icon

Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,881
Joined: 22-February 07
From: North Lincolnshire
Member No.: 1,541



The Hoffmann does look to be the same as the Conrad but it's about twice the price.


--------------------
My layout "Horton-cum-Whinton" is 1950's midland region with Settle and Carlisle flavour.
http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...8&hl=Horton
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Doug
post 26 Oct 2008, 21:35
Post #9


DT
*********



Group: Members
Posts: 4,794
Joined: 18-April 05
From: France
Member No.: 2



Take a look at this topic: http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=979

I've tried the Conrad motors and find them a little too fast and tricky to install. They are only about 7 Euros each.

I prefer the Tillig motors that have options for frog polarity and control panel lights.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Robert Stokes
post 26 Oct 2008, 21:51
Post #10


Station Master
Group Icon

Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,881
Joined: 22-February 07
From: North Lincolnshire
Member No.: 1,541



The speed of conrad point motors, like the speed of any of the slow action type, can be controlled by altering the voltage supplied to them. I also found them too fast when given 12 to 16 volts. However, at about 7.5 volts they are quite a bit slower and quieter. I have a plug-in AC to AC transformer which has a control to alter it from 3V to 12V in steps of 1.5V.


--------------------
My layout "Horton-cum-Whinton" is 1950's midland region with Settle and Carlisle flavour.
http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...8&hl=Horton
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Doug
post 27 Oct 2008, 07:47
Post #11


DT
*********



Group: Members
Posts: 4,794
Joined: 18-April 05
From: France
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (Robert Stokes @ 26 Oct 2008, 23:51) *
The speed of conrad point motors, like the speed of any of the slow action type, can be controlled by altering the voltage supplied to them. I also found them too fast when given 12 to 16 volts. However, at about 7.5 volts they are quite a bit slower and quieter. I have a plug-in AC to AC transformer which has a control to alter it from 3V to 12V in steps of 1.5V.


That's a good idea. I have a 16 volt bus that I use for points. Perhaps I could set up another lower voltage point bus to use some of the Conrad motors that I now have spare.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Brian Considine
post 27 Oct 2008, 08:40
Post #12


No Longer Active.
Group Icon



Group: Members
Posts: 13,318
Joined: 18-May 06
From: UK Margate Kent
Member No.: 702



We have a few Fulgarex on SL - running at around 10v - much better speed & just about audible.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Robert Stokes
post 27 Oct 2008, 13:37
Post #13


Station Master
Group Icon

Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,881
Joined: 22-February 07
From: North Lincolnshire
Member No.: 1,541



Doug, if you have any Conrad point motors that you no longer want, then I will be happy to pay 3 each for them.
Cheers, Robert.


--------------------
My layout "Horton-cum-Whinton" is 1950's midland region with Settle and Carlisle flavour.
http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...8&hl=Horton
Go to the top of the page
 
+
jasp
post 8 May 2009, 09:23
Post #14


Ticket Collector
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 7-January 08
From: perthshire
Member No.: 2,341



Conrad point motors are available to order direct from Conrad www.conrad.com and click on the GB flag. They are currently 6.95 each or 49.90 for 10 less 10% first order plus 4.95 postage making a total of just under 50 - sounds pretty good value to me
Jim
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Guest_jim s-w_*
post 8 May 2009, 09:47
Post #15





Guests






QUOTE (N Gauge James @ 25 Oct 2008, 11:30) *
Looking at them, they seem to be pretty enormous. I'm concerned that if they were say, mounted on a scissor crossing in N gauge, there might not actual be sufficient room to get the motors mounted next to each other. Also, I only have a baseboard depth of 5-6cm including the frame - the Tortoises will be hanging out of the bottom of the baseboard won't they? That could make placing the trestles I use to support the layout quite tricky.


Hiya

You can mount them sideways and remotely using these

Remember to be truly prototypical not all point motors in the real world are slow acing like a tortoise. Some, such as the westinghouse EP ones do smak the point blades around with a very audible bang!

HTH

Jim
Go to the top of the page
 
+

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS    Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 09:03