Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> PWD/BREAKDOWN CRANE, Who makes one ??
Chinahand
post 8 Nov 2008, 18:05
Post #1


Railways Czar
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 4,723
Joined: 26-January 08
From: Daventry, UK
Member No.: 2,410



Hi guys,

I've been looking all over for an N Gauge crane (either breakdown or Permanent Way Dept type) but just can't find one suitable for post WWII GWR era.

I'm guessing it's going to be either a brass or white metal kit which will have to be mounted on a suitable wagon chassis but does anyone know if such an animal actually exists. ??


--------------------
Regards,
Trevor



See my
Market Havering Blog
Go to the top of the page
 
+
upnick
post 13 Nov 2008, 20:46
Post #2


Minister of Transport
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 6,196
Joined: 27-December 07
From: Lancashire
Member No.: 2,300



QUOTE (Expat @ 8 Nov 2008, 18:05) *
Hi guys,

I've been looking all over for an N Gauge crane (either breakdown or Permanent Way Dept type) but just can't find one suitable for post WWII GWR era.

I'm guessing it's going to be either a brass or white metal kit which will have to be mounted on a suitable wagon chassis but does anyone know if such an animal actually exists. ??



Hi Trevor,

Been doing a bit of digging inbetween hopping around biggrin.gif

I'm not sure if this is the type your looking for but its a steam crane http://tinyurl.com/5fq4yx

Will keep on looking for you.


--------------------
UPNICK.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm a busy man. I have a railroad to build.

''Building America''


Go to the top of the page
 
+
Chinahand
post 13 Nov 2008, 21:18
Post #3


Railways Czar
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 4,723
Joined: 26-January 08
From: Daventry, UK
Member No.: 2,410



Yeah I found somthing similar on the Fleetline web site but what a price for a kit !! There appears to be a major gap in N Gauge RTR. Guess I'm going to have to bite the bullet and get the kit. Fleetline also do a GWR hand operated crane which is marginally cheaper and I'll probably try that first.


--------------------
Regards,
Trevor



See my
Market Havering Blog
Go to the top of the page
 
+
upnick
post 14 Nov 2008, 10:05
Post #4


Minister of Transport
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 6,196
Joined: 27-December 07
From: Lancashire
Member No.: 2,300



QUOTE (Expat @ 13 Nov 2008, 21:18) *
Yeah I found somthing similar on the Fleetline web site but what a price for a kit !! There appears to be a major gap in N Gauge RTR. Guess I'm going to have to bite the bullet and get the kit. Fleetline also do a GWR hand operated crane which is marginally cheaper and I'll probably try that first.



Yes there definatley is a major gap for N gauge RTR kits that are quality made items expat, with the weight of white metal getting a crane of this type moving puts strain on the locos ........ motorisation is near impossible to assist unless the crane housing is fixed and cut into given the wheel arrangment and bogie type is correct for the drive used, i have done it with a Mainteneance of way U.P. crane but the bogie used is only one axle powered.

http://tinyurl.com/6fz2td


--------------------
UPNICK.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm a busy man. I have a railroad to build.

''Building America''


Go to the top of the page
 
+
Chinahand
post 14 Nov 2008, 10:20
Post #5


Railways Czar
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 4,723
Joined: 26-January 08
From: Daventry, UK
Member No.: 2,410



Hi Nick,

That large Tomix 4 axle powered bogie looks interesting. I wonder if I can that crane to fit it ??

More thought and investigation needed. That would take the total cost up to over 50 though. Hmmmm. Even more thought needed.


--------------------
Regards,
Trevor



See my
Market Havering Blog
Go to the top of the page
 
+
upnick
post 14 Nov 2008, 12:51
Post #6


Minister of Transport
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 6,196
Joined: 27-December 07
From: Lancashire
Member No.: 2,300



Hi Expat,

Not sure about the Tomix ones but the Kato chassis run well and very smooth they are pretty much sealed in on the Kato's so not sure about how you could fit in a decoder probably it would be a CT type to fit in if at all.


--------------------
UPNICK.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm a busy man. I have a railroad to build.

''Building America''


Go to the top of the page
 
+
Chinahand
post 14 Nov 2008, 12:58
Post #7


Railways Czar
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 4,723
Joined: 26-January 08
From: Daventry, UK
Member No.: 2,410



Hi Nick.

The more I think about it, the more inclined I am to just stick with a static display scene in the PWD siding.


--------------------
Regards,
Trevor



See my
Market Havering Blog
Go to the top of the page
 
+
upnick
post 14 Nov 2008, 13:56
Post #8


Minister of Transport
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 6,196
Joined: 27-December 07
From: Lancashire
Member No.: 2,300



I do see your point Expat and the cost of chipping/chassis on the crane would be better spent on a loco, i agree totally with a static display and a well detailed kit awaiting duty in the sidings.


--------------------
UPNICK.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm a busy man. I have a railroad to build.

''Building America''


Go to the top of the page
 
+

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS    Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 18:44