Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A solvent for petroleum jelly aka Vaseline, What do you use?
Lancashire Fusil...
post 14 May 2009, 00:22
Post #1

Paul Hamilton aka "Lancashire Fusilier"

Group: Members
Member No.: 609

I have been using Vaseline as an extremely effective anti-solder mask when constructing some very delicate axle / bearing type soldered brass connections. Liberal application of the Vaseline on areas where you do not want the two items to be soldered works very well.

The only problem is, that now they are soldered, I washed the completed assembly in Jif using warm water and a toothbrush to scrub away any residual flux (I understand the Jif is also alkaline and thus helps neutralise the acid effects of the flux but I am cr*p at chemistry - that's why I am a civil engineer!).

The Jif appears to have no effect on removing the residual Vaseline which is sort of expected. I was wondering should I clean the assembly with some Isopropyl alcahol instead. I understand the vaseline is a hydro carbon based product and assumed that alcohol would clean it up. Would metholated spirits do the same thing? Does the heat from the iron effect the Vaseline in some way casuing it to leave a different residue behind? It does sputter a bit from the heat I notice as if it flashes off some of the hydrocarbon.