Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules Guidelines
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Creating a concrete area for a maintenance depot, Help and idea's needed.....
Anthony566
post 1 Sep 2011, 00:21
Post #1


Why is'nt it easy !!
Group Icon


Group: Plus+
Posts: 2,155
Joined: 26-April 11
From: North East Coast - UK
Member No.: 10,330



I'm going to put a maintenance depot On my layout And would like to create a concrete area to put it on, there seems to be many ways to do this but I'm just not sure what or how to do it so can I ask if you have done this and have photo's and instructions please post them here.....

I have seen card, plastic and plaster listed as being used for this but no instructions on how it is done and yes I've done the google thing but just don't seem to find something with a good mix of photos and guidance...

So thanks in advance guys :-)


--------------------
My Train set efforts....

Two Tunnels - A short section of track for loco testing and my first attempt at scenery
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...p;hl=anthony566

My Layout Build
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...showtopic=23502

My YouTube Page
http://m.youtube.com/user/anthony566

For Sale ...

I have a number of items for sale.

https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showforum=80
Go to the top of the page
 
+
TheBufoon
post 1 Sep 2011, 00:33
Post #2


Diesel Drinker
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,537
Joined: 13-March 09
From: North Yorkshire
Member No.: 5,225



Hi Anthony, it depends on the scale of your layout, as to which method would be best.

I have used Wills Ratio sheeting, the product # is in my layout post (link in my signature) with plasticard & cardboard, depending on the thickness you require. I used Evo-Stick for the glue.

There aren't no instructions, really, maybe for curves use a piece of paper & a pencil over the top of the track to create a sort of rubbing, that, once cut out will act as a template. Measure twice & cut once! And watch your fingers!

Cheers, Chris.


--------------------

My Layout Yorkshire: Where the men are men, and the sheep are scared!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
LFDRR
post 1 Sep 2011, 03:49
Post #3


My name is Angie
Group Icon

Group: Plus+
Posts: 733
Joined: 1-February 10
From: Essex, UK
Member No.: 7,367



Have a look at Jim's way of doing concrete on this post , the 6th image down is the concrete section.

It does look the bee's knees.

But whatever method you use, give it a go on a test board. If it doesn't work out you can just bin it and try a different method.

Angie


--------------------
Club memberships: 'Modelling on a budget' & 'It's my railway so I'll add and run what I want'
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Anthony566
post 1 Sep 2011, 15:08
Post #4


Why is'nt it easy !!
Group Icon


Group: Plus+
Posts: 2,155
Joined: 26-April 11
From: North East Coast - UK
Member No.: 10,330



QUOTE (TheBufoon @ 1 Sep 2011, 01:33) *
Hi Anthony, it depends on the scale of your layout, as to which method would be best.

I have used Wills Ratio sheeting, the product # is in my layout post (link in my signature) with plasticard & cardboard, depending on the thickness you require. I used Evo-Stick for the glue.

There aren't no instructions, really, maybe for curves use a piece of paper & a pencil over the top of the track to create a sort of rubbing, that, once cut out will act as a template. Measure twice & cut once! And watch your fingers!

Cheers, Chris.


Hi Chris, it's all your fault anyway as it was your layout thread that has kicked this off on my layout !!!!!!

I'm OO with my layout as are you :-) Im going to an art shop this weekend to see what card they have I'm thinking 2mm would be the correct thickness ?? And I have just ordered some wills kits which have a number of plastic sections in them so I can see what they look like....


--------------------
My Train set efforts....

Two Tunnels - A short section of track for loco testing and my first attempt at scenery
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...p;hl=anthony566

My Layout Build
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...showtopic=23502

My YouTube Page
http://m.youtube.com/user/anthony566

For Sale ...

I have a number of items for sale.

https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showforum=80
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Anthony566
post 1 Sep 2011, 15:15
Post #5


Why is'nt it easy !!
Group Icon


Group: Plus+
Posts: 2,155
Joined: 26-April 11
From: North East Coast - UK
Member No.: 10,330




QUOTE (LFDRR @ 1 Sep 2011, 04:49) *
Have a look at Jim's way of doing concrete on this post , the 6th image down is the concrete section.

It does look the bee's knees.

But whatever method you use, give it a go on a test board. If it doesn't work out you can just bin it and try a different method.

Angie


Thanks for that Angie....


--------------------
My Train set efforts....

Two Tunnels - A short section of track for loco testing and my first attempt at scenery
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...p;hl=anthony566

My Layout Build
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...showtopic=23502

My YouTube Page
http://m.youtube.com/user/anthony566

For Sale ...

I have a number of items for sale.

https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showforum=80
Go to the top of the page
 
+
TheBufoon
post 1 Sep 2011, 15:28
Post #6


Diesel Drinker
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,537
Joined: 13-March 09
From: North Yorkshire
Member No.: 5,225



QUOTE (Anthony566 @ 1 Sep 2011, 16:08) *
Hi Chris, it's all your fault anyway as it was your layout thread that has kicked this off on my layout !!!!!!

I'm OO with my layout as are you :-) Im going to an art shop this weekend to see what card they have I'm thinking 2mm would be the correct thickness ?? And I have just ordered some wills kits which have a number of plastic sections in them so I can see what they look like....


Sorry about that Anthony!

I use Layout Card from the Art shop, if that helps.

Cheers, Chris.


--------------------

My Layout Yorkshire: Where the men are men, and the sheep are scared!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Anthony566
post 8 Sep 2011, 17:09
Post #7


Why is'nt it easy !!
Group Icon


Group: Plus+
Posts: 2,155
Joined: 26-April 11
From: North East Coast - UK
Member No.: 10,330



Right I think this is my re designed layout.... maybe ......


--------------------
My Train set efforts....

Two Tunnels - A short section of track for loco testing and my first attempt at scenery
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...p;hl=anthony566

My Layout Build
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...showtopic=23502

My YouTube Page
http://m.youtube.com/user/anthony566

For Sale ...

I have a number of items for sale.

https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showforum=80
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Anthony566
post 8 Sep 2011, 17:12
Post #8


Why is'nt it easy !!
Group Icon


Group: Plus+
Posts: 2,155
Joined: 26-April 11
From: North East Coast - UK
Member No.: 10,330



QUOTE (TheBufoon @ 1 Sep 2011, 15:28) *
Sorry about that Anthony!

I use Layout Card from the Art shop, if that helps.

Cheers, Chris.


Chris does the card have a code and whats the name of the shop ?


--------------------
My Train set efforts....

Two Tunnels - A short section of track for loco testing and my first attempt at scenery
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...p;hl=anthony566

My Layout Build
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...showtopic=23502

My YouTube Page
http://m.youtube.com/user/anthony566

For Sale ...

I have a number of items for sale.

https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showforum=80
Go to the top of the page
 
+
elmo
post 8 Sep 2011, 18:26
Post #9


Fireman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 31-January 09
From: Stonehenge
Member No.: 4,892



You can save yourself some money if you have any paper pads laying around. I have used the card backing for roads and a shed yard. This card is sturdy and easy to cut, but best of all (for my preferred card paint application) it has a texured surface that absorbs a thin paint so you can use the grey colour of the card for your base concrete colour. I also find this type of card a good surface for weathering as the texture ensures that you will not get en even colour spread just like real life weathered tarmac and concrete.
Elmo
Go to the top of the page
 
+
TheBufoon
post 8 Sep 2011, 18:33
Post #10


Diesel Drinker
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,537
Joined: 13-March 09
From: North Yorkshire
Member No.: 5,225



QUOTE (Anthony566 @ 8 Sep 2011, 18:12) *
Chris does the card have a code and whats the name of the shop ?


Hi Anthony, I used layout card, from an Art shop then Wills OO Cement Rendering SSMP214, this should be available from any good model railway shop, if you are having problems, give my local shop a call, I'm sure they will help. http://www.cravenmodelcentre.co.uk/

In between the rails I used 30 thou plasticard then the Cement rendering.

HTH, Cheers, Chris.


--------------------

My Layout Yorkshire: Where the men are men, and the sheep are scared!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
DJD200
post 8 Sep 2011, 18:56
Post #11


Ticket Collector
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 26-July 11
From: Kent - not enough rail tours!
Member No.: 10,809



I'm thinking of using fine wet and dry to top off scratchbuilt platforms. Would this be a good idea for any concrete recreation? It would have a bit of texture without having to paint etc (in my uneducated opinion) but I would guess would permanently and unrealistically look new/perfect.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
TheBufoon
post 8 Sep 2011, 20:43
Post #12


Diesel Drinker
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,537
Joined: 13-March 09
From: North Yorkshire
Member No.: 5,225



QUOTE (Anthony566 @ 8 Sep 2011, 18:09) *
Right I think this is my re designed layout.... maybe ......

Very impressive! But please think twice before using Hornby track.

Cheers, Chris.


--------------------

My Layout Yorkshire: Where the men are men, and the sheep are scared!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Berkeley
post 8 Sep 2011, 21:14
Post #13


Passed Fireman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 351
Joined: 30-April 11
Member No.: 10,355



I use wet n dry. The one I use is a sandy colour, you can spay paint it to the colour you require.

cheers Trish
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Anthony566
post 8 Sep 2011, 22:01
Post #14


Why is'nt it easy !!
Group Icon


Group: Plus+
Posts: 2,155
Joined: 26-April 11
From: North East Coast - UK
Member No.: 10,330



QUOTE (TheBufoon @ 8 Sep 2011, 21:43) *
Very impressive! But please think twice before using Hornby track.

Cheers, Chris.


Chris my current layout is 99% Hornby set track and flex n/s ive not had any running problems since setting it up last November what is it about the Hornby track ? i am adding quite a bit of peco track to the new layout.

Anthony


--------------------
My Train set efforts....

Two Tunnels - A short section of track for loco testing and my first attempt at scenery
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...p;hl=anthony566

My Layout Build
https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...showtopic=23502

My YouTube Page
http://m.youtube.com/user/anthony566

For Sale ...

I have a number of items for sale.

https://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showforum=80
Go to the top of the page
 
+
TheBufoon
post 8 Sep 2011, 23:56
Post #15


Diesel Drinker
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 1,537
Joined: 13-March 09
From: North Yorkshire
Member No.: 5,225



QUOTE (Anthony566 @ 8 Sep 2011, 23:01) *
Chris my current layout is 99% Hornby set track and flex n/s ive not had any running problems since setting it up last November what is it about the Hornby track ? i am adding quite a bit of peco track to the new layout.

Anthony

Sorry Anthony, I don't want to alarm you. If it's working good for you, that's great. thumbsup.gif

I think it's something to do with the metal, silver/nickel content? But I don't know why, IMHO.

Hornby turnouts/points don't have the beat reputation, that's why I steered clear. If you are adding more track you may be better sticking to Peco. ph34r.gif

If you are unsure, you could start a thread on "Should I use Hornby track", as I'm not well-educated enough to give the answers, It would be interesting to see the reply's though!

Cheers, Chris.


--------------------

My Layout Yorkshire: Where the men are men, and the sheep are scared!
Go to the top of the page
 
+

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS    Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 4th August 2020 - 23:46