Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules Index
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Running in New OO Locos
Kiwibarge
post 11 Jun 2020, 21:08
Post #1


Ticket Collector
**

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 9-March 20
Member No.: 204,773



Hi

Just got to the point where I can run my first Locos (on an oval track) to make sure they work. Yes I have installed DCC encoders.

Do I need to do anything special ie lubrication, 10 mins slow running or ?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+
John Webb
post 12 Jun 2020, 09:09
Post #2


Railways Czar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,328
Joined: 20-August 05
From: St Albans, Herts.
Member No.: 144



I've used a rolling road in recent years. I tend to check the engine and see if it needs oiling first, or if second-hand oil the motion anyway. I usually run at slow speed for ten minutes in each direction, then medium speed, fairly fast and then check for possible oiling again before ten minutes each way at full speed. On an oval of track I would suggest after running in each direction it's turned round before the next increase in speed so it's meeting the curves in a different direction.

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Richard Johnson
post 12 Jun 2020, 09:18
Post #3


Just another modeller
Group Icon


Group: Plus+
Posts: 9,981
Joined: 19-May 06
From: Settle, UK
Member No.: 703



*** As running in should also bed in gears under standard load/as they will normally be used, its also worth first running as a test loco only, then doing the full running in with a medium sized train AND at varying speeds.

regards, Ahjay


--------------------

Direct honest advice from DCC, DC & Modelling experts

Please do visit us at Unit E, The Sidings, BD24 9RP.... right behind Settle Station.
Ph +44 (0) 1729 821 080 or email to
[email protected]
Further customer service available online at:
https://www.dccconceptsforum.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+
34C
post 12 Jun 2020, 13:32
Post #4


In depth idiot
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,190
Joined: 31-May 07
Member No.: 1,818



QUOTE (Kiwibarge @ 11 Jun 2020, 22:08) *
Just got to the point where I can run my first Locos (on an oval track) to make sure they work. Yes I have installed DCC encoders.

Do I need to do anything special ie lubrication, 10 mins slow running ...

I like to first run my new acquisitions solo for a couple of hours at moderate speed: equally forward and reverse, and turned
around on the track a few times so that they are equally exercised turning to the left and right on the test circuit. That 'works' all
the moving mechanism, and allows the motor brushes to shape a contact to the commutator under low current conditions, polishes
up wiper contacts and wheel tyres on the rail. I check lubrication before starting and add tiny dabs of oil to the rod pins on steam
models half an hour in. Any shrieking or other sounds of distress are dealt with as required. (Very rare, two in the last 20 years!)

That done successfully, I immediately go on for another ten hours with the planned trainload and duty cycle. That's the period I
have determined as sufficient to find any 'infant mortality' in the mechanism. (I do all this within 2 to 3 days of receipt so a split
gear or burnt out motor has happened on a 'new' loco and there's no argument.) I would not claim my data is sufficient to be
statistically significant, but here's the deal: I have had and dealt with several 'infant mortality' failures of the type described in the
test running. Subsequently, no such problems, and I am past 20 years in on the oldest of my 'current standard' Chinese purchases,
in the form of Bachmann's WD 2-8-0s, and the A1s, Std 5MT, class 24.
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS    Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th August 2020 - 21:47