Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Posting photos & graphics
Doug
post 23 Apr 2005, 21:12
Post #1


DT
*********



Group: Members
Posts: 4,794
Joined: 18-April 05
From: France
Member No.: 2



If you'd like to add a photo to your post, you can do the following:

On the Edit screen, simply click the IMG button and enter the URL of you image.

Like this:
CODE
[IMG]address-of-the-photo[/IMG]

For example:
CODE
[IMG]http://www.modelrailforum.com/images/Garratt.gif[/IMG]


Remember that your photo has to be on the Internet for this to work. If you do not have any place to host your photos you can subscribe to a free photo hosting service. Even better, join up to the Model Rail Forum Plus+ membership package and get the use of the gallery to host you photos - you'll help support the forum in the process too. Click here for details.

Please keep your photos around or under 800 pixels wide. This saves bandwidth and allows people with lower screen resolutions to see the images. 900 pixels for the occasional good photo, but please don't post jumbo photos un-cropped or resized directly from your camera.

If you have a problem, please don't hesitate to ask.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
dwb
post 3 Feb 2006, 17:35
Post #2


Station cat
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 9,501
Joined: 17-January 06
From: Central southern England
Member No.: 507



I would like to post an image
I have uploaded it to a personal photo album hosted by my ISP
My ISP indicates that my photos are stored at http://<site>@ISP.com
How do I further refine the URL so that it points to the album / photo in question?

Regards
David


--------------------
Want to post pictures in your posts but don't know how? Instructions can be found in this topic
Almost all the photos I post can be found in my albums. There are 900+ at present. Click the Gallery button to the left of this post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
post 13 May 2006, 19:36
Post #3


Regional Controller
Group Icon



Group: Plus+
Posts: 2,648
Joined: 19-April 05
Member No.: 3



Left mouse click on the image and a menu opens up. Right click on "properties" at the bottom of the menu. Copy the address(URL) and paste this in between the image codes as shown above.

When you review the message the image should then be present.

You can then add the reply which includes the image.

Happy modelling
Gary
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Paxman
post 3 Feb 2007, 13:51
Post #4


Fireman
****


Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 27-January 07
Member No.: 1,396



Doug,

I have been trying to post a photo, but on trying to use the "Canon Image Gateway" (which I chose because I have a Canon camera), the MRF site reported an error along the lines of "Cannot host dynamic pages" or similar (it was late and I did not write down the actual error text).

Is there any other way I can upload images?

Or is there a free site you can recommend which works for this job?

Thanks for any help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Doug
post 3 Feb 2007, 16:11
Post #5


DT
*********



Group: Members
Posts: 4,794
Joined: 18-April 05
From: France
Member No.: 2



If I don't have access to my server via FTP and if I need something uploaded fast, I use Flickr. Should be still free and easy.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
post 4 Feb 2007, 06:51
Post #6


Ticket Collector
**

Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 21-November 06
Member No.: 1,127



QUOTE (Paxman @ 3 Feb 2007, 23:51) *
is there a free site you can recommend which works for this job?


I use Photobucket
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Paxman
post 4 Feb 2007, 20:46
Post #7


Fireman
****


Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 27-January 07
Member No.: 1,396



Thanks chaps. I'll have a look at those.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
goedel
post 16 Mar 2007, 14:28
Post #8


is asleep
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 758
Joined: 3-February 07
From: Clackton
Member No.: 1,424



Hello,

Is there code that allows you to resize the image as displayed on the fourm? Neither [img=AxB] or [img height=B width=A] seem to work...

Thanks,
Goedel
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Doug
post 16 Mar 2007, 14:39
Post #9


DT
*********



Group: Members
Posts: 4,794
Joined: 18-April 05
From: France
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (goedel @ 16 Mar 2007, 15:28) *
Is there code that allows you to resize the image as displayed on the fourm? Neither [img=AxB] or [img height=B width=A] seem to work...


No, as it is now, that wouldn't work. Perhaps there is a modification code out there somewhere that would do it.


The board software has automatic resizing for extra large images, but I turned that off as it didn't work so well and wasn't able to be configured to the level that I required.

With the gallery, if you upload a large image, it will be resized into a large (1600x1200 max), medium (640x480 max) and small (128x128 max) graphic, keeping the aspect ratios of the original file.



Use ResizR to rezize your images online if you like and then save them in your gallery or to your PC.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Colombo
post 3 May 2007, 13:07
Post #10


Passed Fireman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 303
Joined: 21-October 05
Member No.: 259



Doug,

I find that the system will not accept uploads from Photobucket now because of those dynamic images,

Colombo
Go to the top of the page
 
+
DiesAL
post 26 May 2008, 13:18
Post #11


Fireman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 223
Joined: 12-March 08
From: West Midlands
Member No.: 2,605



QUOTE (Doug @ 23 Apr 2005, 22:12) *
If you'd like to add a photo to your post, you can do the following:

On the Edit screen, simply click the IMG button and enter the URL of you image.

Remember that your photo has to be on the Internet for this to work. If you do not have any place to host your photos you can subscribe to a free photo hosting service.

If you have a problem, please don't hesitate to ask.


I don't have a site on the internet to store photos. Can't someone enable a simple 'cut or copy and paste' facility to allow pictures to be added/imported to a post? It would be much easier than having to set up a website/host site?

Go to the top of the page
 
+
Brian Considine
post 26 May 2008, 18:41
Post #12


No Longer Active.
Group Icon



Group: Members
Posts: 13,318
Joined: 18-May 06
From: UK Margate Kent
Member No.: 702



Looks like a useful site/facility, so I've bookmarked it for later use - it looks to me like you can use a file directly from your HD, so if your picture is only stored on say Photobucket all you have to do is download it back to your HD to resize ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+
RAF96
post 6 Jun 2008, 12:29
Post #13


Retired...
****

Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 3-March 08
From: Dereham, Norfolk
Member No.: 2,561



Hi
My problem is not how to post images but how to arrange my set-up so that I can view those posted.
At present all I see are gaps in the text.
I am not a plus member at his time.
Robbie


--------------------
Halton Brat - 96th Entry.

www.halton96th.co.uk


www.halton96th.org.uk/page21.html

00 Gauge DCC using Hornby Railmaster with Elite, Select and eLink.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
dwb
post 6 Jun 2008, 16:59
Post #14


Station cat
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 9,501
Joined: 17-January 06
From: Central southern England
Member No.: 507



QUOTE
I am not a plus member at his time.


That will not affect being able to see images posted on this website.

This sounds like some kind of setting problem on your system, but I haven't a clue what. It feels like your system doesn't like finding references to other Internet sites in the messages. It seems to be saying "I'm on MRF; I'm not going to look at that imagesite, I don't know where it's been!".

I think you need to talk to someone who knows how a system might think like that.

Here's a test. The image below is stored in the MRF Galleries, so the image is "local" rather than coming from outside. If you can't see it, then I guess your browser really doesn't want you to see any pictures at all sad.gif



There should be a small image just above this sentence.

David


--------------------
Want to post pictures in your posts but don't know how? Instructions can be found in this topic
Almost all the photos I post can be found in my albums. There are 900+ at present. Click the Gallery button to the left of this post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
1ngram
post 15 Sep 2008, 13:55
Post #15


Guard
***

Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 8-September 08
Member No.: 3,591



Was a solution to this Photobucket problem ever found as I have been trying today to post a photo from Photobuckett and getting the same "dynamic image" problem. I post photos from Photobucket to other forii without any problem so whats the matter here?



QUOTE (Colombo @ 3 May 2007, 13:07) *
Doug,

I find that the system will not accept uploads from Photobucket now because of those dynamic images,

Colombo

Go to the top of the page
 
+

9 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS    Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th May 2020 - 04:27