Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules About this Guest posting area
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Peco SL-E393F and SL-E394F Crossings, Wiring Issues
Phil Newman
post 25 Nov 2015, 22:02
Post #1


Baggage Porter
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-November 15
Member No.: 21,833



Can anyone advise me please on wiring up the above Peco crossings, I have read up on this subject and it seems the easy way is to use a frog juicer? These are quite expensive and i will be having a lot of crossings on my new layout so i want to wire these up as cheaply as possible if i can. I am running DCC and N Gauge. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. The above crossings are electrofrog by the way.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Graham Plowman
post 26 Nov 2015, 04:41
Post #2


Regional Controller
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,399
Joined: 5-September 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 869



No! No! No! Frog juicers are totally unnecessary, purposely designed to part people from their money. There is no situation which can't be wired without them.

You need to treat these track sections as a totally isolated and self contained unit, and use switch-gear on a neigbouring point motor to power the appropriate direction across the crossing.

I haven't seen the N gauge products, but most 00 gauge products from Peco already have feed wires attached for this purpose.


--------------------
Graham Plowman
(British outline 00 - NCE PH PRO-R, Lenz 100 - DCC Sound and computer controlled signalling/interlocking of Ashprington Road with SSI software)
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Phil Newman
post 26 Nov 2015, 07:35
Post #3


Baggage Porter
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-November 15
Member No.: 21,833



Hi Graham, I thought there must be a solution! Your right these crossovers come with four wires already attached one on each of the frogs and one on each of the outer rails. What I need to know is how to wire them for DCC so I don't have polarity issues. Thanks for your response, and if you have the answer please let me know.
Best Regards
Phil
Go to the top of the page
 
+
RFS
post 26 Nov 2015, 09:14
Post #4


Station Master
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,487
Joined: 28-April 07
From: Derbyshire, UK
Member No.: 1,748



It makes no difference whether you're wiring for DC or DCC - the wiring is the same. You can use a DPDT switch as shown in the Peco instructions in diagram 10 here - http://www.peco-uk.com/imageselector/Files...%20Turnouts.pdf

Alternatively you can use a twin switch on the connecting point, which must have been modified to fully isolate the frog electrically. I use Tortoise slow-action point motors which have two built-in SPDT switches. The first is used for two of the frogs - the point's own frog and that of the crossing furthest away (as they both always need the same polarity), with the other crossing frog switched by the second switch. The only proviso is that when a train takes the straight route through the crossing, the turnout must not be set to route over the crossing, else you'll get a DCC short. But this is standard prototype operation anyway.


--------------------
Robert Smith
Go to the top of the page
 
+
dwb
post 26 Nov 2015, 19:59
Post #5


Station cat
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 9,503
Joined: 17-January 06
From: Central southern England
Member No.: 507



Here's a drawing I created some time ago:



David


--------------------
Want to post pictures in your posts but don't know how? Instructions can be found in this topic
Almost all the photos I post can be found in my albums. There are 900+ at present. Click the Gallery button to the left of this post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Graham Plowman
post 26 Nov 2015, 21:45
Post #6


Regional Controller
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,399
Joined: 5-September 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 869



Phil,

QUOTE (Phil Newman @ 26 Nov 2015, 17:35) *
Hi Graham, I thought there must be a solution! Your right these crossovers come with four wires already attached one on each of the frogs and one on each of the outer rails. What I need to know is how to wire them for DCC so I don't have polarity issues. Thanks for your response, and if you have the answer please let me know.
Best Regards
Phil


RFS and dwb have provided the correct answer.

The only thing I would add is that to avoid all possible shorting issues, you may want to fit isolating fishplates to every rail end.
Without knowing the context of the layout where these units are to be laid, this is the safest approach, although depending on the feeds from neighbouring track, you may not need to fit insulating joints to every rail.
Personally, I would isolate the whole thing and provide power ONLY through the switches - this is what I have done on the two slips on the entrance to Ashprington Road:



--------------------
Graham Plowman
(British outline 00 - NCE PH PRO-R, Lenz 100 - DCC Sound and computer controlled signalling/interlocking of Ashprington Road with SSI software)
Go to the top of the page
 
+
reddo
post 27 Nov 2015, 08:12
Post #7


Company Chairman
********

Group: Members
Posts: 3,254
Joined: 5-November 09
From: Munich
Member No.: 6,675



Thanks dwb for posting that picture as that is also what I need for this weekends wiring exercise. Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+
dwb
post 27 Nov 2015, 20:56
Post #8


Station cat
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 9,503
Joined: 17-January 06
From: Central southern England
Member No.: 507



QUOTE
Personally, I would isolate the whole thing and provide power ONLY through the switches

I also do this.

David


--------------------
Want to post pictures in your posts but don't know how? Instructions can be found in this topic
Almost all the photos I post can be found in my albums. There are 900+ at present. Click the Gallery button to the left of this post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS    Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th June 2020 - 18:18