Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
574 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Who are our 1:1 scale railway modellers...?

I'm one. 22 years in P-way and Signalling. Now work on the London Underground on the Jubilee, Northern and Piccadilly lines...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hi there
I also have a BIG train set at 1:1 scale, I have worked on the railways for 36yrs in signal engineering and maintenance and I am now an Instructor for the S & T.

Signal trainer

·
Registered
4,497 Posts
Part-time, voluntary - member of trust restoring the St Albans South Signal box adjacent to the Midland main line. This is one of the very few boxes preserved 'in situ'. Hopefully will be opening on a regular basis later this year - more information on www.sigbox.co.uk

Regards,
John Webb

·
Registered
276 Posts
Working volunteer on Swanage Railway 1986-1998. Started on locos, set up their first machine shop. As I was employed in engineering at the time, got fed up with being stuck in a workshop for 7 days a week so joined S&T, built most of the signals now seen on the railway. Spent 4 years on the Council Of Management, but resigned, and packed in volunteering as I just didn't have the time, as by 1998 I had my own business.
Paul M.

·
Chief mouser
11,775 Posts
Worked in railway preservation (mostly EKLR, but a few seasons on the Bluebell) but retired due to internal politics. Still miss it though.

Regards

·
Registered
94 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
My 1:1 scale model is the tram system (not joined up yet) in Dublin, Ireland. We have a number of lines under construction and on the drawing board. I still like small models too.

Basil

·
Premium Member
338 Posts