Model Railway Forum banner

A Beginner!

1K views 8 replies 8 participants last post by  hairyhandedfool 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hi, Im a real beginner in all this, totaly un-equiped. ive had trains for many years boxed up But today, there out alltho all i have is one GP50 loco, one hopper and one box car, first time they have run in 5 years, at the moment i just have an ovel track spend most of my time just getting it to work. look forwords to learning more here, sepecialy about making realistic senary (all i have is a green board with a building on it) Im picky I like things real, and mostly want to learn about making realistic scenery and weathering trains.

And here is what own, hope it will grow (as my wallet shrinks)

I also have a couple of buildings and a few cars, but no photos of those. and sory about bad photos.

So hi everyone, Hope i can learn from you and make this a bigger hobby for me.

See less See more
#3 ·
Hi and welcome
I know the feeling of having everything boxed up and in storage

But it is like Christmas when you open things up

You will find lots of inspiration on this forum, I know I have
and the benefit of other peoples experience and knowledge
Regards Zmil

#6 ·
Hi Junkheap and welcome to the MRF.

You've certainly come to the right place if it's help and guidance you're looking for.

I take it from the pics that you are planning to model US Ho scale. Do you have any ideas on layout plans yet and, if so, what sort of space do you have available ??

Good luck with the modelling and ask away.

Cheers,

Expat.

#7 ·
Hi Junkheap,welcome to the forum, and the world of model railways....or, in your case apparently, model railroads.

Since you seem to have acquired some US -prototype equipment, how much do you know about the real thing?

gaining knowledge of the real thing is quite important, as it allows you to have an idea about what is realistic,and what is not?