Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am new to all this dcc stuff! But i am lookig to invest in a new dcc kit, to go with my new model railway it i currentley have £500 to spend on a contriller and a few decoders.

I will need a good controller because it needs to oprate a railway 25-18 feet, with 112 point and at the minute 47 locos(manly hornby bachmann and heljan) i am looking for one which has the latest feature and future proof .

I am quiet intresed in a lenz set 100, or ECoS command station genration 2 (would the ecos be compatible wth lenz or other makes decoders?)

Which would you guys recommand? or any other kits which you think would be better for my needs.

your thoughts and comments would graet help to me

ALL the best smiley

·
No Longer Active.
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (smiley @ 26 Mar 2007, 10:40) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I am quiet intresed in a lenz set 100, or ECoS command station genration 2 (would the ecos be compatible wth lenz or other makes decoders?)

Either is a good choice - probably the most important feature to look at is the number of functions you will require - sound requires more.

The Lenz Set100 is good & reliable, although a little dated - I use one for my LGB Garden Railway. The service back up from the importers (MacKay Models is outstanding).

The EcoS does almost everything except make the tea. I am not aware of any decoder that will not function with it.

Look at the comparisons chart & try to narrow it down a bit. List the features you know you will require, now or in the future.

Do you want hand held or desk console ?

Do you want computer interface ?

& so on.

Most importantly (if you can) have a play with the various systems to see how you like them.