Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yep, I've done it. My first experience with a sound decoder fitted to my belowed Roco V100 shunter.



Brilliant. What a joy to hear those sounds. But unfortunately the driver had to go


Then it was steam time. Fitted a loksound V3.5 to my Roco Br50.

Problem: At very low speeds the loco jerks. Help.


From now on you will hear a lot from me. Pls forgive my daft questions. There will be plenty.

Cheers
Baykal
 

·
In depth idiot
Joined
·
7,730 Posts
QUOTE (ebaykal @ 4 Sep 2007, 08:18) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Problem: At very low speeds the loco jerks. Help.
Baykal,

Presumably it was a smooth low speed performer on DC? If so, take a read through the decoder manual to see what adjustments are available, and then experiment with setting the relevant configuration variables (CV) to improve performance. Sometimes minor adjustments to starting voltage and the mid speed curve value may be all that is required; but another loco may need back EMF sampling, motor duty cycle and frequency values adjusted. Probably worth a look on both Roco and ESU's websites for any specific advice for your combination of decoder and motor type.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
34C, thanks, Yes indeed it was a smooth runner in DC.What I have found is from their site is to check CV49 , something to do with loading. Advises to change it from 1 to 0 . The problem is I can't find CV49 in ECos. Don't tell me that I need a lokprogrammer!


Baykal
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
You asked: The problem is I can't find CV49 in ECos. Don't tell me that I need a lokprogrammer!


Look carefully at the programming methods. Changing CV49 is no different to changing any other CV in ECOS. This is covered in page 25 of the English Language ECOS manual

Richard
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE (ebaykal @ 4 Sep 2007, 19:01) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>34C, thanks, Yes indeed it was a smooth runner in DC.What I have found is from their site is to check CV49 , something to do with loading. Advises to change it from 1 to 0 . The problem is I can't find CV49 in ECos. Don't tell me that I need a lokprogrammer!


Baykal
You can check this in two ways.

Go to the programming screen, which is this one shown below,



put in CV 49 in the top box and insert whatever value you want to change it to in the bottom box, or select edit loco, go to the advanced screen which is this one shown below,



put the loco on the programming track and read in what the existing settings are and if you go through all the screens shown by the icons on the left hand side you will find cv49 and what it is currently set to.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Richard , Neil,

Thanks a bunch.
Got it. Problem solved !

Ooo this a beautiful piece of machinery and the things it is capable to do is stunning. Still have a lot to learn.

Cheers

Baykal
 

·
In depth idiot
Joined
·
7,730 Posts
QUOTE (ebaykal @ 5 Sep 2007, 12:04) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Ooo this a beautiful piece of machinery and the things it is capable to do is stunning. Still have a lot to learn.
Maybe you will end up as I did. After fitting the first dozen locos with decoders, I decided to practice with the controller until 'everything' about using it became second nature. Eleven months later I have done much less 'modelling' (unless taking loco bodies off to install decoders counts as such) and much more driving. It is just so much fun.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE (ebaykal @ 5 Sep 2007, 21:04) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Richard , Neil,

Thanks a bunch.
Got it. Problem solved !

Ooo this a beautiful piece of machinery and the things it is capable to do is stunning. Still have a lot to learn.

Cheers

Baykal
No worries. There is a lot to find out about the ECoS that is not in the manual. I have put some of my learning experiences in my blog as it may be of benefit to new users.

Have you registered on the ECoS forum yet? It is a good place for info and the all important update downloads. You need your serial number to register.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Neil,

I haven't registered to the forum yet , but will do so. Its all in German but thanks to "Babelfish" think will help.

By the way, did you know that Esu, probably in November/December, will launch their sound file software, such that we can download it thru the ECos with no need of the extra Lokprogrammer?

Can't wait..

Cheers

Baykal
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE (ebaykal @ 6 Sep 2007, 20:57) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Neil,

I haven't registered to the forum yet , but will do so. Its all in German but thanks to "Babelfish" think will help.

By the way, did you know that Esu, probably in November/December, will launch their sound file software, such that we can download it thru the ECos with no need of the extra Lokprogrammer?

Can't wait..

Cheers

Baykal
Babelfish works ok for me. I occaisionally get away with English too.

The next update for ECoS is going to be a good one. It will apparently contain Railcom which will come out at about the same time as the new Switchpilot. There is a copy of the manual for the new SwitchPilot on the ECoS forum for download by members. It looks pretty good.

I like the idea of being able to download sound files through the ECoS. This means you will only have to buy a generic Loksound decoder and you can change sounds as you wish without having to play around with the LokProgrammer.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top