Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just need a bit of help and thoughts on autocupling and compares. I am at present got some Sprat & Winkle which seam to do the job but would like to hear from others on there thoughts on this subject any help would be great as I fine most uncupling "e g"peco locos get stuck on the ramp so a hidden one would be better such as magnet under track in S/W must be better

Noblenoel

·
Paul Hamilton aka "Lancashire Fusilier"
844 Posts
I have used tension locks and Kadees but am settling on Dingham for good looking magnetic autocoupling. Do a Google on them for more info.

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the tip on the Dinghams bit puzzled on how they fit to wagons does not show too clear in the exsamples I found
regards Noel

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
Hi Noel
I have been using kadees for 25+ years with no problems. There is a vast range of different types to choose from, including different lenghts and heights. They also offer a variety of uncouplers, which can be fitted between the rails or underneath the track out of sight. There is even an electromagnetic one. Kadee have an excellent web site.
I have no experience with Spratt and Winkle or Dinghams, not sure what type Dinghams are actually. Then there is the question of can your coupler of choice be easily sourced.
A good idea would be to have a look at a couple of exhibitions and see how the various couplers work on in an actual working environment. Nothing like the pressure of exhibition operating to weed out the non performers.
One final thing, no matter which type you eventually decide to use, the reality is that there may/will be some degree of modification required to your models.
Until you gain experience with converting your rolling stock to a new type of coupler, I would advise using rolling stock that, if it gets damaged will not cause the same grief as a new expensive item.