Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I was wondering if someone knowledgable about paint work can help me. I am still very new to this Hobby so please forgive me if I get any of the terminology wrong!

Unbeknown to me at the time, I somehow managed to get two small and very faint glue finger prints on my loco, one just below the builders plate on the cab, and another small one on the boiler.

They were faint enough that I could have left them there and it would'nt have been a big issue, but im a perfectionist and so this weekend I attempted to remove them first with plain water on a cotton wool bud, and then with a pencil eraser.

The pencil eraser actually removed the worst of the marks, and although a tiny hint of the glue fingerprint is still there, I felt like the it was more or less job done at that stage.

That was untill i shone a strong light on the subject, and I can see that I must have removed some of the varnsh (lacquer??) with all the rubbing, because those two problem areas are now shiny in strong light compared to the rest of the loco.

Now Ideally I would really like to get these areas back to how they were, which is matte I guess (or would it have been satin?), and blended back in with the rest of the loco.

Can anyone please tell me if this is A. feasable B. something I can do at home. or C. Is there someone in the UK with the required skills that would do minor cosmetic repairs as a service?

Is there be a suitable lacquer / varnish I could spot-apply to the areas in question to remove the shine? or perhaps someone might have an idea for another "hack" ?

One thing I must note is that the lineing is ever so delicate on these locos, so masking areas off could be problematic. I dont have an airbrush currently, which could limit my options.

Any help or advice much appreciated.

Matthew

·
In depth idiot
8,464 Posts
Matthew, welcome to this forum.