Model Railway Forum banner
21 - 40 of 45 Posts

·
Administrator
Joined
·
10,037 Posts
>both should be able to talk to each other and operate alongside each other!
The way DCC is meant to be! Hurrah for both if this happens.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,275 Posts
My Wangrow System One which is 10 yrs old can handle 6 locos at one time on one throttle, you can daisy chain 24 throttles but you need two boosters, has 9999 loco addresses , 1015 accessory addresses with macros, PC interface, wireless through CVP, can read/write on the main and prog track and is upgradeable via the eprom change out. The only thing it can't do is use the the extra 6 functions that have come about in the last couple of years. Hornby have a lot of catching up to do. Mind you as good and reliable as it is I'd sell for a Zimo unit , 5 digit addressing


Ozzie21

QUOTE (Gary @ 28 Jan 2007, 15:47) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Elite does enable you to control the speed of 2 independent locomotives concurently and definitely has 4 digit addressing and can definitely read addresses as well as write.

Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
204 Posts
QUOTE (Ozzie21 @ 28 Jan 2007, 11:25) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>My Wangrow System One which is 10 yrs old can handle 6 locos at one time on one throttle,
Gary means the Elite has two knobs which you could use (left and right hands) to simultaneously change the speed of two locos. I don't think your system has 6 knobs (or that you have the appropriate number of hands either).
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
10,037 Posts
>I'd sell for a Zimo unit
The Zimo feature I like is the track side units which transmit speed information to the locos so that if you go past a caution signal for example, the loco will respond and slow down.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
697 Posts
QUOTE Mind you as good and reliable as it is I'd sell for a Zimo unit , 5 digit addressing


What advantage is there to having 5 digit addressing?

Other than enabing you to address more locos and devices (do you really need that many?), I can't think of any other reason?

If it's to choose an address that corresponds with a loco number, then that's now surpased by the availability of systems with a loco naming feature.
You can input whatever alpha-numeric name you like, subject to the number of characters available.
e.g. the Hornby Select allows 8 characters, the Bachmann Dynamis 12 characters and the Roco MultiMaus 5 characters. There are other systems with this feature too.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE Dynamis is a 100% British concept and has had absolutely no input from Bachmann USA. Bachmann USA are interested in offering the product for sale within the USA. Wrong, it's made by a German company ESU, for an American/Chinese company Bachmann, who happen to sell British outline model rail products. Whats British about it?

QUOTE Both products are state of the art with one based around ESU concepts and one based around Lenz concepts. The Dynamis is made by ESU and the Hornby is made by some company in Cambridge. When did we establish that Lenz had any input into the Hornby system? Is this breaking news?

QUOTE There are other systems with this feature too. The Ecos has this feature too.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
Neil. Have you been to the London Toy Fair and spoken with Bachmann and Hornby?

Bachmann UK/Europe will certainly take issue with your comments and so will Hornby UK. Yes both companies have partners and the concepts are British. Everybody at Bachmann nodded when I expressed surprise and sought further confirmation of this. If the Brits put the work in and sign off the design then its British. You cannot use a trademark unless you have permission and Hornby have a relationship with Lenz as they use the Lenz trademark in their marketing material.

Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE You cannot use a trademark unless you have permission and Hornby have a relationship with Lenz as they use the Lenz trademark in their marketing material. If they use Lenz's name then they will have to show the trade mark this is standard procedure when using another companies name. But in what way do Hornby have a relationship with Lenz as you appear to be insinuating? No-one at any point has alleged that Lenz had any input to the Hornby DCC effort. The closest I've seen is only that Hornby would like it to be compatible with Lenz. It was supposed to have been made by some company in Cambridge. Obviously as you are partial to insider information you may have something you want to share with us?

QUOTE Yes both companies have partners and the concepts are British I would agree with the Hornby aspect of this statement as their partner is British but unless you have information that has not been stated elsewhere then I can't see what is British about the Bachmann DCC program other than where it will be sold and that the management have an office in the UK. If you have more info we would all love to hear it?

This quote comes from the Dynamis thread QUOTE The system has been developed in conjunction with German DCC specialist ESU and features a compact wireless handset reminiscent of the Playstation Portable (PSP) games console. Dynamis shares many features with the acclaimed ESU ECoS command station (see MR99), but is considerably smaller. Doesn't sound 100% British then does it?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
In terms of Britishness if I as a Brit have a some of money and come up with an idea for which I invest £££ not €€€ then irrespective of where the manufacturer or design is sourced if I am paying and I am signing off the work and I am based in the UK then I am offering a product that is British. Bachmann UK may have been given some money to play with by its overseas owner as they liked the idea and were prepared to back Britain!

Am I right or wrong?

In terms of Hornby and Lenz when you talk to these guys you get a certain impression from body language and how things are said. The distinct impression I am left with, rightly or wrongly, is that there has been a liason with Lenz throughout the design process. What the precise arrangements are no one knows as that is confidential. Hornby are out to offer something new to a new customer who formerly would not consider DCC by Lenz or anybody else. I sense that Hornby are not after the Lenz market and that actually Lenz will benefit as a result of the new influx of DCC users.

Again, rightly or wrongly, this is the impression.

Both Hornby and Bachmann will be launching their respective products to the European market at the German Toy Fair.

Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
Hi Peter. How are you matey? Don't laugh when you see the London Toy Fair gallery.

One issue with Dynamis is that when you look down to view the control pad in your hand you end up with a double chin that does not look that flattering when you are photographed by Dennis Lovett from Bachmann!


This could be an issue with any handheld device!


Dennis Lovett and Simon Kohler are much more photogenic!


Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
204 Posts
QUOTE (Gary @ 29 Jan 2007, 10:07) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Am I right or wrong?
I think "product of many countries" would be more accurate. Finance from A, concept from B, design from C, manufactured in D and marketed in E.
The use of national labelling for products which are not entirely of that country is rather common and diminishes the concept.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,275 Posts
Yes that's fine but when you have numerous locos, like 7 A-1's, 15black fives, and so on 5 digit addressing comes into it's own. Names are fine but like all things you can run out of characters.
Ozzie 21

QUOTE (Oakydoke @ 29 Jan 2007, 01:18) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>What advantage is there to having 5 digit addressing?

Other than enabing you to address more locos and devices (do you really need that many?), I can't think of any other reason?

If it's to choose an address that corresponds with a loco number, then that's now surpased by the availability of systems with a loco naming feature.
You can input whatever alpha-numeric name you like, subject to the number of characters available.
e.g. the Hornby Select allows 8 characters, the Bachmann Dynamis 12 characters and the Roco MultiMaus 5 characters. There are other systems with this feature too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,275 Posts
Each throttle can control up to six locos at one time as it remembers the last six requested. Sure your fingers can do a dance but can get quite adept at it.

Ozzie21

QUOTE (Mark Thornton @ 28 Jan 2007, 22:58) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Gary means the Elite has two knobs which you could use (left and right hands) to simultaneously change the speed of two locos. I don't think your system has 6 knobs (or that you have the appropriate number of hands either).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,275 Posts
Yes I quite like that feature as well. A DCC version of AWS without the siren.

Ozzie21

QUOTE (dwb @ 28 Jan 2007, 23:01) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>>I'd sell for a Zimo unit
The Zimo feature I like is the track side units which transmit speed information to the locos so that if you go past a caution signal for example, the loco will respond and slow down.

David
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (Mark Thornton @ 29 Jan 2007, 10:48) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I think "product of many countries" would be more accurate. Finance from A, concept from B, design from C, manufactured in D and marketed in E.
The use of national labelling for products which are not entirely of that country is rather common and diminishes the concept.

That's more accurate - I like it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
763 Posts
One system - I forget which - has a "fast clock" . Dynamis seems to feature the well-known Bachmann "slow clock" : "early 2007" has now slipped according to the whispers to "late Aug/Sept"

This sort of thing is fairly familiar to anyone awaiting a forthcoming Bachmann product , and I wouldn't really rule out release at Warley in December

The best rumour for the Elite is March . This gives Hornby 6-9 months clear run ahead of Bachmann

But given the nature of the Select issues (at least as I understood them from the "ring ring" thread - ie some component in the circuit isn't quite spot on), I don't think we can make any useful comment until at least the Elite is available
 
21 - 40 of 45 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top