Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·


Bachmann Europe today (28 March 2007) announced that a new website for the Dynamis DCC system has been launched. The new site can be found at www.dynamisdcc.com and contains information on the soon to be released system, answers frequently asked questions and provides details of Dynamis stockists. It also explains the different products more fully.

David Haarhaus, Sales & Marketing Manager for Bachmann Europe said today "Dynamis has generated so much interest that we have designed a new stand alone website for this specific product to reflect its international standing within the hobby. We recognise the power of the internet in being able to accurately communicate the many advantages of this wireless system which will provide a giant technological leap forward for Digital Command Control systems".
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
>We recognise the power of the internet in being able to accurately communicate
I wonder how they learned that
.

But seriously, I am definitely going to take a look. Seeing the Bachmann guy at Ally Pally with the controller hanging round his neck like an ID badge was pretty compelling. My primary requirement is for a wireless controller; dynamis might be a good place to start.

<Edit>
I've had a mooch around. There doesn't appear to be a link to the site from the main Bachmann UK site, or maybe I've done too much surfing tonight reading small print


It's not listed in the features, but there's a reference to ECoSlink in the FAQ and as all ECoS fan boys and girls know, ECoSlink is the bus used by the ECoS... The only question is, is it a controller feature or do you need the pro box. Still £90 to dip your toes in the water seems like a good deal to me.

David
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
You need the Pro box for the ECoSlink.

Interesting to read the FAQ. They have answered a few questions raised here before:

- Using the Dynamis at exhibitions... Seems that you can have 4 Dynamis systems in the same wireless range area - like 4 communications channels.

- 2.5amp power supply at 15.5 Volts.

- E-Z Command Dynamis can have one wireless controller. E-Z Command Dynamis Pro allows for three additional wireless controllers giving 4 in total.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
I was thinking exactly the same thing as Doug when reading the FAQ section. Where did they get those frequently asked questions from!


The Pro box is required to provide users with the PC link as well as the ECoSlink.

No prices for this yet.

Bachmann have to be very excited about Dynamis and it will definitely raise their profile within the DCC community and beyond.

ESU are probably excited aswell as it could well raise theirs!

Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
697 Posts
According to Bachmann at Ally Pally:

Bachmann Dynamis approx. £90 (probably selling for £75+ at the usual discount).

Bachmann Dynamis Pro is approximately £50 more (I think that's RRP ?).

Total cost approx. £120 to £130 I'd guess.

Fantastic !

E-Z Booster, to provide an extra 5 amps, approx £80 to £90.

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts
Just a thought, does anybody know if the Dynamis can read CV values from decoders?

I've looked on the Dynamis website, and can't see it specifically mentioned.

This is not as daft a question as it may sound, the Roco Mulimaus is similarly well specified (9999 Loco addresses, 1024 Turnouts, Locomotive Names etc), but it's big shortcoming is that it cannot read CVs.

For anyone interested, I will hopefully be doing a brief writeup on the Roco Multimaus over the coming weekend, when I've had a bit more of a chance to get to grips with it.
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I sure hope it can read CV's. If it doesn't it will get a Royal thumbs-down.

You want to read a CV to see what it is set to. A couple of years after you have installed a decoder into a loco, you may not be sure as to how it is set-up. I wasn't aware the the Multimaus had that shortcoming...
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (Gary @ 29 Mar 2007, 08:27) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Where did they get those frequently asked questions from!


I would hazard a guess that several head sheds try to think what FAQ's may come up & put a few on to set the ball rolling - otherwise a FAQ section would look a little silly if it started without any !
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 29 Mar 2007, 17:19) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I sure hope it can read CV's. If it doesn't it will get a Royal thumbs-down.

You want to read a CV to see what it is set to. A couple of years after you have installed a decoder into a loco, you may not be sure as to how it is set-up. I wasn't aware the the Multimaus had that shortcoming...

The Multimaus itself has the capability to read CVs, but the Roco Digital Amplifier 10764 that it comes bundled with does not. There are a couple of footnotes in the Multimaus manual that say that CVs can only be read when connected to Lenz devices or the Rocomotion PC Interface.

Hence, I'm starting to come to the conclusion that my 'ideal' DCC setup is probably going to be some sort of hybrid.
Perhaps the Multimaus connected to a Lenz Amplifier, with the ZTZ 505 as a slave controller. But more on this later.....
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
QUOTE (ashleyh @ 29 Mar 2007, 22:41) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>...Hence, I'm starting to come to the conclusion that my 'ideal' DCC setup is probably going to be some sort of hybrid.
Perhaps the Multimaus connected to a Lenz Amplifier...

I've thought about this. I may get a Roco Multimaus to try out on my Lenz. It does sound as though it will work well.

Anyone with a spare Multimaus
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 29 Mar 2007, 22:41) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I've thought about this. I may get a Roco Multimaus to try out on my Lenz. It does sound as though it will work well.

Anyone with a spare Multimaus


Hi Doug,

We have some basic Roco Digi Start Sets on order from Roco - when they come in we could either lend you one or try it out with some of the Lenz we have (that's if you have not done so by then,)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
743 Posts
Have been watching this with interest, I have a Lenz Set 100. Love it, but like alot of people feel its starting to show its age. Originally when I bought it I thought id add a ZTC 511 as a slave. Bought the 511, returned it a week later as I was far from impressed. Since then I haven't been able to make up my mind......decided on adding a multimouse...then on an ECoS....now possibly this.....I think the only sensible thing to do with regard to DCC at the minute is to wait and see how things pan out! And I don't like waiting......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
133 Posts
QUOTE (80class @ 30 Mar 2007, 08:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Have been watching this with interest, I have a Lenz Set 100. Love it, but like alot of people feel its starting to show its age. Originally when I bought it I thought id add a ZTC 511 as a slave. Bought the 511, returned it a week later as I was far from impressed. Since then I haven't been able to make up my mind......decided on adding a multimouse...then on an ECoS....now possibly this.....I think the only sensible thing to do with regard to DCC at the minute is to wait and see how things pan out! And I don't like waiting......

Hi,

'scuse me if I'm being nosy, but could you let me know what didn't impress you about the ZTC511. I have been working with one for a couple of years (yes, working is the best way to describe it!) I have found it very quirky, but I am also interested in other folk's views. Email me if you find that more appropriate.

Regards,

Hugh
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
743 Posts
Have sent a PM. Really do not want to start another supposed "ZTC BASHING" round that no one can win!

Rob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
213 Posts
QUOTE (Gary @ 29 Mar 2007, 08:27) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Where did they get those frequently asked questions from!


I would imagine from what people were asking them on the demo stand at Ally Pally...
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top