Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
There is a massive advert on the back of this months Model Rail.

Its very Star Wars in effect

E-Z Command Dynamis - New generation DCC launching soon.

A google search on Bachmann Dynamis reveals nothing model railway related!!!

Amazing but true!


Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
Bachmann now say this on their website:-

QUOTE We have created a powerful successor to the original EZ Command system, called EZ Command Dynamis. Dynamis will enable the many thousands of EZ Command customers to smoothly progress to a full function Digital Command Control system.

Dynamis development is far advanced and we feel the time is now right to make this announcement.

Dynamis is a Full Function DCC Control system developed from our experience and knowledge gained from the EZ Command family of products.

Dynamis will cover two market segments but is modular and upgradeable rather than two stand alone units.

Dynamis will incorporate contemporary features and technologies.

Dynamis will also include several fantastic and unique features that have not been seen on any other mainstream DCC control system. These features will make the system extremely versatile and easy to use both functionally and ergonomically.

Dynamis will of course be an NMRA DCC compliant product and will work with existing EZ Command decoders. It will be a perfect partner for the new 36-553 back EMF decoder.

Dynamis will be available in the early New Year.

Dynamis will continue the EZ Command tradition by offering superb value for money without compromise to quality or functionality.

The original EZ Command System, item 36-500 will remain in production, as we feel that the recommended retail price of £45.95 offers a great way to experience the benefits of DCC operation for the first time.

Submit your email address via the new Dynamis Page and you will be kept up to date with the latest Dynamis information.

Happy modelling
Gary

PS Apologies to Oakydoke who mentioned the new Bachmann system yesterday in a seperate thread. Its the advert at the back of Model Rail that caught my eye and I have only just discovered your post elesewhere.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
697 Posts
QUOTE PS Apologies to Oakydoke who mentioned the new Bachmann system yesterday in a seperate thread. Its the advert at the back of Model Rail that caught my eye and I have only just discovered your post elesewhere.

GaryNo need to apologise Gary.
I think this may be interesting news?

 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Looking at the info more closely this is not an add on for the current E-Z Command base.

It is an entirely new modular DCC control system that will be available in the "New Year".

Therefore I would expect the system to be unveiled at the London Toy Fair 2007 and for release in time for Xmas 2007.

That should keep DCC techies talking for the next 12 months!


Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
342 Posts
Now you didn't expect Hornby's entry into the DCC market to go unchallenged by bachman did you ?

was the advert timed to coincide with the Hornby booklet perhaps ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
697 Posts
QUOTE (bangerblueed @ 8 Sep 2006, 21:03) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Now you didn't expect Hornby's entry into the DCC market to go unchallenged by bachman did you ?
Good point.
QUOTE (bangerblueed @ 8 Sep 2006, 21:03) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>was the advert timed to coincide with the Hornby booklet perhaps ?


From reading the DCC UK forum, it seems the Hornby Elite is turning out to be less than perfectly spec'ed.
The 254 loco's limitation is one of the main issues, with the suggestion that it may not read full 4 digit addresses? Also it seems the Hornby systems are NMRA "compatible", not "compliant".

Could Bachmann be about to release a much better system than Hornby's?

 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
I surprised that a huge multi national company like Bachmann doesn't have a bigger better DCC system than the one they are now selling, the EZ. I was surprised to see that that is all they have in the States too. Hopefully this new system will be a step up. It wouldn't be hard to upstage Hornbys effort. Both the DCC controllers seem very basic in their specs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,918 Posts
QUOTE Also it seems the Hornby systems are NMRA "compatible", not "compliant".
Sounds like they failed the test in one of their specs or maybe to lazy/cheap to submit for certification. Don't understand how they can only be compatable and not complient. Let's see if we can find out what the issue is before we jump to any conclusions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
697 Posts
.
It would be a great shame if the Hornby Elite turned out to be a DUD !

A lot of people have been waiting for the release of this system as their first entry into DCC, or as an upgrade from older (out of date) entry level systems like the Lenz Compact, Roco LokMaus2 or Bachmann E-Z.

Bachmann say the Dynamis will serve two markets and that the original E-Z Command will remain on sale.
It seems likely that the higher spec option will out do the Hornby Elite and that's no suprise as they've had a chance to watch Hornby over the last 10 months.

Competition in this sector may be "hot" as Digital will be the way forward for RTR manufacturers over the next few years.

Hopefully Bachmann's talk of "available in the New Year" means 2007 !
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE A lot of people have been waiting for the release of this system as their first entry into DCC, or as an upgrade from older (out of date) entry level systems like the Lenz Compact, Roco LokMaus2 or Bachmann E-Z.

Trouble is that Roco have already released a budget system that outdoes the Elite and Bachmann have just announced one. It looks like the Hornby one may be redundant before it even hits the shelves. Unless they decide to give it another upgrade of course. This will obviously mean more delays if they do.

This Dynamis system sounds promising. They reckon it will have "several fantastic and unique features that have not been seen on any other mainstream DCC control system. " I am dying to see what they will be?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
This is the latest Bachmann sales pitch...

QUOTE Benefiting from years of experience in Digital Command and Control technology, Dynamis will be a significant leap forward in versatility and operation. Enabling existing and new EZ Command customers to benefit from a revolutionary full function DCC system at an affordable price.

We want you to be kept up to date with the latest Dynamis news. Simply fill in your email address in the box provided and we will send you important Dynamis News Bulletins as the Launch of this technical marvel approaches.

QUOTE technical marvel...

QUOTE Benefiting from years of experiance....

QUOTE a significant leap forward in versatility and operation...

QUOTE revolutionary....

Interesting isn't it?


QUOTE From reading the DCC UK forum, it seems the Hornby Elite is turning out to be less than perfectly spec'ed

You mean you can understand the DCC UK forum!


My guess would be that at the price of under £100 for the top range unit with the spec that it has got and with chips at around £8 does anybody who is not a member of the DCC UK forum really care!


I still cannot understand this fascination with paying for control units that control 255 million locos or whatever. How many people in the UK can run more than 10 at time?

Ford or Rolls Royce anybody?

There are companies who listen to what the DCC experts want, and there are companies who listen to what the general public want. Which catagory to Bachmann and Hornby fit into?


It may come as a shock to some of you but they are not out to "sell" a system to the DCC experts!


If the DCC experts understood the market in the UK for DCC then why isn't everybody already operating with DCC!


At the end of the day when it comes to DCC I am a total realist, don't want to spend a huge fortune, want something which I know has or will have good UK customer support, and don't want to get too involved in the technology behind it. If it does what it says on the packet then great!


There are probably a lot of people who think like me and they probably far outnumber the membership of the DCC UK forum and even MRF!


Now if you are one of those people on a limited budget who, like me, is thinking Hornby or Bachmann, and until now has been put off from getting involved in DCC chit chat then why not sign up to Model Rail Forum!


Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Just to add that Hornby and Bachmann no doubt welcome feedback from the DCC community and its band of experts.

We should not confuse this with feedback from the general public who will be purchasing the equipment.

There is only so much Hornby and Bachmann can do to keep the experts happy if the ordinary public are only willing to spend £yy.

Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,918 Posts
Gary I understand where you're coming from but I have a sneaking suspicion that once I really set up my system, and fully automate all my points, accessories and routes I'll soon find out why all of these high numbers are warranted. For now it does seem like a lot of overkill but then we also thought that 256MB memory was more than we would ever need.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
>thought that 256MB memory
When I were a lad, a 64k address space looked plenty big enough even if you could afford that much memory.

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE There is only so much Hornby and Bachmann can do to keep the experts happy if the ordinary public are only willing to spend £yy.
That is a fair point. While the Bachmann and Hornby DCC systems are very basic they are intended to cater to the beginner and the train set market. I guess some of us who are more into DCC and looking at advanced systems loose sight of that. They are also fairly cheap for UK product (the only other UK product being ZTC who are having a laugh with their prices).

QUOTE For now it does seem like a lot of overkill but then we also thought that 256MB memory was more than we would ever need. It's called future proofing. It's better to allow for expansion as once you get into it you will want to use more and more accessories.


QUOTE >thought that 256MB memory
When I were a lad, a 64k address space looked plenty big enough even if you could afford that much memory.
They only brought in computers in my last year at school. I would have no idea what memory they had then.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
>They only brought in computers in my last year at school
They only brought in /calculators/ in my last year at school....

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
QUOTE Gary I understand where you're coming from but I have a sneaking suspicion that once I really set up my system, and fully automate all my points, accessories and routes I'll soon find out why all of these high numbers are warranted. For now it does seem like a lot of overkill but then we also thought that 256MB memory was more than we would ever need.

I have a sneeking suspicion Dennis that your set up is way beyond what most UK modellers will have due to space restrictions in a typical UK home. Again lets not loose sight of the fact that a lot of DCC chit chat is between overseas modellers who may not appreciate the limitations of modelling in the UK.

Anything more than 6ft x 4ft in a UK home and you are considered to have a big layout!

Now are you going to need all the functionality of a mega system for that?


Or are the Bachmann and Hornby offerings appropriately scaled and priced for layouts of this size?


Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
743 Posts
Gary, I fear that you have fallen into the same trap that it appears Hornby have. The reason for wanting a system that can handle proper 4 digit addresses it not so that you can have 759 locos on a layout, its so that you can use longer numbers for loco addresses. For example, the flying Scotsman you could use 4472 as its address.

Another important reason why long addresses are better is that all other DCC systems use them, even the new wave of starter kits such as the Roco Multimouse and the NCE power cab use 4 digit addressing. This means that if a friend brings a loco to use on your layout with a long address, it will need to be reprogrammed to work on your layout.

To sum up, there are plenty of reasons why the big DCC companies use 4 digit addressing!

Rob
 
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
Top