Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well ive decided to build a british layout again as ive been modelling american for 5 years and wanted a change. Its going to be based on the forest of dean as if some coal branches lasted into the late 70s (though there will be some 60s stock to give the panniers some work). Called 'Wyeford', the plan is to have a disused station (something you rarely see modelled?) with a grass covered platform showing signs of decay that trains have to run through to reach the colliery sidings. Its only an 8'x2' end to end layout but the announcements of class 14 and 22 hydraulics in rtr was too much to resist!

paul

·
Registered
92 Posts
sounds good would like to see it when its finished!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Sounds great. I particularly like the idea of the disused station. I plan to incorporate a section of disused line in my layout (actually as a result of a planning mistake!!
), with sleeper imprints in the ballast the only sign of "life". But I hadn't considered a station. It will be very interesting to see how you progress. Like you I'm excited about the new hydraulics - something I have no memory of but which fascinate me.

Cheers
Sulzerjev

QUOTE (whoppit @ 20 Jun 2008, 01:40) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Well ive decided to build a british layout again as ive been modelling american for 5 years and wanted a change. Its going to be based on the forest of dean as if some coal branches lasted into the late 70s (though there will be some 60s stock to give the panniers some work). Called 'Wyeford', the plan is to have a disused station (something you rarely see modelled?) with a grass covered platform showing signs of decay that trains have to run through to reach the colliery sidings. Its only an 8'x2' end to end layout but the announcements of class 14 and 22 hydraulics in rtr was too much to resist!

paul

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·