Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,841 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new garage layout needs a backscene of 29 feet. Now it so happens that peco large backscenes are 29 inches, so I would need exactly 12 of them. I'm not worried about the cost which would only be about £12 as I have one unused from a previous layout already. However, what does concern me is the idea that they would be rather monotonous. I don't want any village, town or city or dock scenes as I am modelling a secondary main line station that, like many real ones, are (or used to be) two or three miles from the place they serve. I'm not sure that mountains are apprpriate for most of England so this really leaves me with the general country scene and twelve of those in a row would be a bit repetetive!

So what about a hand made backscene, bearing in mind that I'm no artist and my idea of painting is doing the whole wall in one colour? Has anyone done this? How easy is it for someone like me? I have in mind just a sky blue with enough cloud to make it look like England with something brown and green for the bottom couple of inches. Would watercolours be best? Can anyone advise about the best place to buy them or the make to get?

I wonder about the idea of getting peco sky with cloud backscenes and doing the land part at the bottom myself, however this would lose the advantage of a continuous sheet that I could get using lining wallpaper. Is there any other option that I haven't considered?

Thank you in advance for any help. Robert

·
Registered
2,151 Posts
Hi Robert,

We sorted out the backdrop problem by the help of BUSCH's CD " hinter grunland ". The only catch is you need a photo shop kind of a program.

It comes with all sorts of infinite number of elements which you can paste according to your choice. Then can be printed at a desired length and width at a profesional photo printers shop. We had ours done at approx 5 quid as shown below:

Baykal

·