Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I would like to ask if anyone has built a Bill Bedford 4F chassis kit in 4mm. I am relatively new to loco kit building and have been easing myself in to it gently with a couple of Comet chassis for RTR locos. I would like to know if they are a big step up from the basic Comet chassis or if they are on par? My plan is to build a few basic six coupled chassis then progress upwards, I have a Craftsman Johnson 1P to do as well.
After the basic six coupled chassis what should be my next logical progression, my goal is to get to a standard where I can attack a DJH S&D 7F.

Many Thanks

·
Just another modeller
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Merry Go Round @ 4 Mar 2008, 21:47) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi, I would like to ask if anyone has built a Bill Bedford 4F chassis kit in 4mm. I am relatively new to loco kit building and have been easing myself in to it gently with a couple of Comet chassis for RTR locos. I would like to know if they are a big step up from the basic Comet chassis or if they are on par? My plan is to build a few basic six coupled chassis then progress upwards, I have a Craftsman Johnson 1P to do as well.
After the basic six coupled chassis what should be my next logical progression, my goal is to get to a standard where I can attack a DJH S&D 7F.

Many Thanks

**Bill Bedford 4F chassis goes together really well like all his stuff - bear in mind its primarily designed for P4 and EM rather than OO use, and designed for sprung beam suspension, but it builds well in all guises as long as you take care... It is certainy a step up from the good but more basic Comet Chassis.

If you can manage these and the craftsman 1P then you will have no problem with the DJH 7F however you will be probably disappointed in the very basic nature of the DJH chassis after building one of Bills!

Richard

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·