Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I am rather new in BR modelling and information in Austria is not very easy to get, I am wondering what a Black Five is (I have seen pictures of locomotives with different numers).
Is there anyone who can explain that?
Thank you
Pelle

·
Administrator
9,844 Posts
A "Black Five" is an LMS locomotive with a power classification of 5 which carried a black livery. Power classes ranged from 1 to 9 (Not sure about 9 for the LMS but certainly for the BR period). It had a 4-6-0 wheel arrangement. The LMS had other 4-6-0 locomotives such as the "Scots" which were class 6 and Jubilees which were originally 5XP and carried a crimson livery - ie not black (at least before the war).

This Wikipedia article will get you started. There is also a site dedicated to the Jubilees.

David

·
Registered
4,497 Posts
Welcome to the Forum.

There are some 18 'Black Fives' preserved on various heritage railways in the UK, including the North Yorkshire Moors, Llangollan, East Lancashire, National Railway Museum, Seven Valley Railway and Midland Railway Butterley.

If you go to http://www.heritagerailways.com you will find links to all the above railway's web-sites and will find photos on most of them.

Several books have been written about the Black Fives because they were a numerous and well-liked loco, and a look at Amazon or Ian Allan (www.ianallanpublishing.com) should give you a few titles to consider looking at.

Regards,
John Webb

·
Chief mouser
11,775 Posts
Welcome indeed,

you will find that "black 5" is only the tip of the iceberg as far as nicknames for locos go, still any help and I feel sure we will be able to help.

Regards

·
Premium Member
746 Posts
Can I recommend the LMS Loco Profile series by Wild Swan. They have everything you want to know about Black Fives.