Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI All,

Im new to this so please bare with me. Im in the process of building a portable OO Gauge layout 20`x 8` extendable to 28` x 8`. My problem is this- Having built some of the boards and done some of the joins Im unhappy with them as it has left a very large gap between the rails. Has anyone got any ideas on how to rectify this problem or can suggest a better way of making the joins. I currently use Peco code 100 flexitrack soldered to PCB which is screwed to the baseboard at the edges but even with them screwed down and the rails at the edge of the board there is a large gap.

Any help on this would be great,

Mark

·
Registered
15 Posts
The secret is to make sure that the baseboards are securely connected and that the joint between baseboards is consistent. If the baseboards are not always connected together exactly right, then your tracks will always be wrong. So I would ask as to how your baseboards are secured to each other?

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (Phil Ban @ 15 Jun 2008, 00:15) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>The secret is to make sure that the baseboards are securely connected and that the joint between baseboards is consistent. If the baseboards are not always connected together exactly right, then your tracks will always be wrong. So I would ask as to how your baseboards are secured to each other?

Hi Phil,

The boards are slotted together with four wooden dowels and then secured by four coach bolts. Two in the baseboard and two in the brace between the legs.
The boards are tight together and level as best that i can get. (without adjustable feet at the moment)

Mark

·
garage hobbit&#33;&#33;&#33;
1,715 Posts
Hi Mark, welcome to the forum,