Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new DCC layout using the Hornby Elite and I am looking to add some working colour light signals

How is it best to wire and control these -- should I use the Elite and if so how, or would you recommend a different method, or using a dc controller (I have a Gaugemaster combi)

·
Registered
4,497 Posts
Were you going to use Hornby's own colour light signal (which are rather overscale) or those made by someone else, such as Ekcon/Berko? Just that Hornby use a filament bulb and everyone else uses LEDs, which may influence your choice of operation.

By the way, we have a 'Signalling' sub-forum (under the 'Tracks, Layouts and Scenery' part of the forum) where we discuss both the prototype and modelling signals, which may be of interest to you.

Regards,
John Webb

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (John Webb @ 18 Dec 2008, 14:30) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Were you going to use Hornby's own colour light signal (which are rather overscale) or those made by someone else, such as Ekcon/Berko? Just that Hornby use a filament bulb and everyone else uses LEDs, which may influence your choice of operation.

By the way, we have a 'Signalling' sub-forum (under the 'Tracks, Layouts and Scenery' part of the forum) where we discuss both the prototype and modelling signals, which may be of interest to you.

Regards,
John Webb

I am intending to use Eckon/Berko -and probably looking to control them Manually - either through the Elite or with switches.

I will take a look at the sub forum, thanks

·
Registered
4,497 Posts