Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I am waiting for the delivery of a three powered loco set which i intend to DCC with 3 TCS M1 decoders is it better to run them as a consist or can all three decoders be locked to the same address giving a synchronised use of the motors in all three units , is there a better way of doing this ?
 

·
Paul Hamilton aka "Lancashire Fusilier"
Joined
·
844 Posts
Consist would be the go depending on your operating DCC system of course assuming it supports advanced consisting functions that would be the best way forward.
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Using a consist enables you to control each loco individually as well as together. You can drive the loco into the consist and control it's functions or lights. For example you may want the middle loco to have it's lights turned off.

If all the locos had the same address, you couldn't control them individually and turning on the lights would affect all three locos at once.

Once in a consist, the driving instructions go to all three at the same time obviously and they work together as one unit. As long as the speed tables, acceleration and deceleration are matched, you will have a more powerful unit.

Test them on a piece of track, uncoupled and a few centimetres apart. If they are properly matched, they should move together forwards and backwards without coming together. Sometimes, its tricky to get it right. Having the addresses separate allows you to fine tune the locos individually.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The Operating system is an NCE power pro and supports advanced consst.
 

·
In depth idiot
Joined
·
7,678 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 14 Oct 2008, 06:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Test them on a piece of track, uncoupled and a few centimetres apart. If they are properly matched, they should move together forwards and backwards without coming together. Sometimes, its tricky to get it right. Having the addresses separate allows you to fine tune the locos individually.
As many of us have doubtless now discovered, removing a coupler per loco means that you are not forever having to uncouple if the matching is somewhat off when you start this process.

It may be advantageous when you have the matching completed to turn off Back EMF in one or more of the decoders, to prevent them 'fighting' when coupled up. Not experienced this myself, but it is fairly frequently reported.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
825 Posts
QUOTE (upnick @ 14 Oct 2008, 07:47) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>The Operating system is an NCE power pro and supports advanced consst.
Advanced consisting is a decoder function (CV19). As such, it is supported by all command stations. The point to note is that you are limited to 2 digit addressing.

Other forms of consisting that are achieved by the command station sending multiple address, are command station dependent.

Andrew
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,342 Posts
QUOTE (SPROGman @ 14 Oct 2008, 22:54) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Advanced consisting is a decoder function (CV19). As such, it is supported by all command stations. The point to note is that you are limited to 2 digit addressing.

Other forms of consisting that are achieved by the command station sending multiple address, are command station dependent.

Andrew

Just a question about the advanced consisting

Is the consist address limited to 2 digit or do the loco address's need to be 2 digit (or both) ?

I suppose that 3 questions

Regards Zmil
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (zmil @ 15 Oct 2008, 09:36) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Just a question about the advanced consisting

Is the consist address limited to 2 digit or do the loco address's need to be 2 digit (or both) ?

I suppose that 3 questions

Regards Zmil

***Advanced consiting doesn't affect the decoder address settings at all - it simply aliases the group of locos to a new number between 1 and 127. You should think of a consist address as a train number not a loco number anyway...

Advanced consisting keeps full loco by loco accessory / lighting control and has other benefits so I don't see it as a disadvantage at all - after all, how many consists are likely to be wanted?

Re back EMF in consists it should be set so that the back EMF is reduced in effect as speed increases - or if U have TCS back EMF you can turn it off and on with a function OR set it so it turns off at a specific speed step - both excellent features as slow speed control is mantained as "best":

Alternately, you can remove the problem by properly speed matching the loco's to start with.

In real trains, such minor "fighting" between locos (as can happen on multiple models with back EMF) does exist anyway by the way - ask any engine driver before the days of full electronic control (ie recently!) ... so its quite prototypical!

regards

Richard
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
293 Posts
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 15 Oct 2008, 02:40) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>***Advanced consiting doesn't affect the decoder address settings at all - it simply aliases the group of locos to a new number between 1 and 127. You should think of a consist address as a train number not a loco number anyway...
However, you would not want to choose the same 2 digit address for your consist that another 2 digit loco may already be using. The commands sent to the track for speed control are actually the same for 2 digit single locos and advanced consists.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Great info from you all many thanks armed with my new manual for the system (thanks John) all thats needed now is final install on the third loco and try it all.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top