Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys,

I'm pleading for help!! Im a novice to this and ANY support would be greatly appreciated!

I've spent on a few $$$'s on this hobby and I'm yet to even lay a track piece on the table! Call it a building up phase - buy everything and then begin the project.

I'm STUCK on the controller issue - that is, how do I control the spee of my train! What method do the 'experts' suggest? I dont particularly want to go to DCC as i've spent enough $$$s but if I have to I'll consider it.

What suggestions are there out there for powering my set? Im slowly learning the electronics side of things, so go easy on me when asking the questions.

Im something simple, effective and reasonable priced.

ANY help will be appreciated!

P.S - a local shop suggested the digitrax system, but he done my head in with trying to explain it to me.

Stets

·
Registered
2,499 Posts
Surely if you are not sure about going DCC then why not stick to good old DC! You can get loads of different controllers for this method of propelling your electric engines. Gaugemaster do many different controllers as do Hornby and you could even look on ebay for the old H & M controllers which in my opinion are pretty bullet proof! I have a couple myself and must be over 40 years old.

Try this website

http://www.gaugemaster.com/

Or this one

http://www.hornby.com/

Hope this helps you

Kind regards

Paul

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Paul,

Im actually wanting to go simple DC - was planning to go all the way! Then the local dealer threw a spanner in the works by telling me to go Digitrax. Not sure if he wanted a sale, but I must admit, he has been helpful to me.

If I go DC, I want to make the switches for the turnouts and go through all the wiring fun and games. But then I dont know where people get their control panels from.

Decisions, decisions, decisions!