Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I changed cv 124 from 0 - 6 on my sound chipped (Esu) locos in hope that when momentry current disruption occurs the loco would carry on without having to go through start up.

What I have found however is that when I get a stall, te loco 9its more than one) shoots backwards (speed and distance dependant on current speed) then either goes through start up or carrys on. Its not the result I was after!

Any ideas?
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
I replied on N.R.M.

I have tried the very same thing and it all works fine, using the NCE Powercab.

Have you tried resetting the decoder to factory defaults?

There maybe another setting that could be causing a conflict, worth a try I reckon!

I would do that then just set CV124 to 6. If this works, just change the CV settings one at a time and test after each change to see if one of them that is being altered is causing the fault.

I have asked Richard Johnson for the correct CV values and numbers for this as I wanted to set it up as well, but then I read this!!
Hopefully he will read this and maybe able to shed some light on what is happening.

Ian
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
QUOTE (wiggy25 @ 19 Dec 2007, 23:47) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I replied on N.R.M.

I have tried the very same thing and it all works fine, using the NCE Powercab.

Have you tried resetting the decoder to factory defaults?

There maybe another setting that could be causing a conflict, worth a try I reckon!

I would do that then just set CV124 to 6. If this works, just change the CV settings one at a time and test after each change to see if one of them that is being altered is causing the fault.

I have asked Richard Johnson for the correct CV values and numbers for this as I wanted to set it up as well, but then I read this!!
Hopefully he will read this and maybe able to shed some light on what is happening.

Ian

I presumed if I did a factory re-set it would wipe out the sound files?
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Piemanlarger @ 20 Dec 2007, 16:27) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I presumed if I did a factory re-set it would wipe out the sound files?

***With a LokProgrammer you can set the special settings to give "persistent acceleration" and "persistent deceleration" and this will help it - but I'm B****ered if I can find the CV reference for it. Its not the total answer but as noted CV 124 to 7 should actually work to some degree if 6 doesn't. A small degree of accel/decel momentum may also help....

A factory Reset: No, it won't wipe the sound files BUT if the settings or some CV's have been tweaked, they will need to be re-done, so this WILL affect the performance of some non-ESU sound files....ie Howes or SWD etc...

best to do a full read and note all important settings before U do it.... however even then some may be a bit awkward without a LokProgrammer to fall back on.

Richard
DCCconcepts
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 20 Dec 2007, 09:57) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>***With a LokProgrammer you can set the special settings to give "persistent acceleration" and "persistent deceleration" and this will help it - but I'm B****ered if I can find the CV reference for it. Its not the total answer but as noted CV 124 to 7 should actually work to some degree if 6 doesn't. A small degree of accel/decel momentum may also help....

A factory Reset: No, it won't wipe the sound files BUT if the settings or some CV's have been tweaked, they will need to be re-done, so this WILL affect the performance of some non-ESU sound files....ie Howes or SWD etc...

best to do a full read and note all important settings before U do it.... however even then some may be a bit awkward without a LokProgrammer to fall back on.

Richard
DCCconcepts

Will try cv 124 - 7.

These are older sound chips, perhaps v2.0 so perhaps that is the difference?
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
QUOTE (Piemanlarger @ 20 Dec 2007, 07:27) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I presumed if I did a factory re-set it would wipe out the sound files?

I wouldn't have thought so, by entering a value of 8 into CV8 should return it to factory values, which I would hope is with the sound files, but you just never know!!
Can you try the loco on another layout, or even a few lengths of straight track connected together, this will prove the wiring.
If you don't have a lok programmer, can you take the loco to anybody that has one to check everything?

Neil, In the manual for the ESU Loksound V3.0/V3.5 decoder page 36, doesn't really tell you what the outcome will be though.

CV 124 AUXILIARY SETTINGS:- DEFAULT VALUE 7

Store direction (for Marklin use only) 1
Store function state 2
Store current speed setting 4
Start again with acceleration ramp 8

So by entering a value of 6 this should store the function and speed setting, so if you do get a short it will remember the speed and function settings. Like I say on setting 7 the sound would reset and start from begining but with a value of 6 the loco will start off at it's last speed and the sounds will just continue.

Ian
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Piemanlarger @ 20 Dec 2007, 19:28) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Will try cv 124 - 7.

These are older sound chips, perhaps v2.0 so perhaps that is the difference?

***Yes - I was presuming V3 or 3.5. The earlier ones are a whole different thing. I'll look into it but I'm not hopeful. Improved pickups may be your only aid there......

Richard
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
I took delivery of an SWD ESU LokSound today and there is a big NOTE saying

"WARNING! Changing CV 08 p16 4.3 will reset to factory defaults. These are NOT the same as our settings. Read CV values and save before making any changes."

The emboldening is SWD's.

So be sure to save your CVs first if you have an SWD.

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
Oh I get it, you add them, thanks


QUOTE (wiggy25 @ 20 Dec 2007, 21:32) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I wouldn't have thought so, by entering a value of 8 into CV8 should return it to factory values, which I would hope is with the sound files, but you just never know!!
Can you try the loco on another layout, or even a few lengths of straight track connected together, this will prove the wiring.
If you don't have a lok programmer, can you take the loco to anybody that has one to check everything?
Neil, In the manual for the ESU Loksound V3.0/V3.5 decoder page 36, doesn't really tell you what the outcome will be though.

CV 124 AUXILIARY SETTINGS:- DEFAULT VALUE 7

Store direction (for Marklin use only) 1
Store function state 2
Store current speed setting 4
Start again with acceleration ramp 8

So by entering a value of 6 this should store the function and speed setting, so if you do get a short it will remember the speed and function settings. Like I say on setting 7 the sound would reset and start from begining but with a value of 6 the loco will start off at it's last speed and the sounds will just continue.

Ian
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top