Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello this is the first time i have used a forum please be gental with me. I have fitted a bachmann 3 function chip to a Hornby class 66 but when i move to the first speed step the loco jumps, spluters,stops & starts until you speed up after that is seems ok. I have some knowledge dcc but this has me stumped. cheers. Andy

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Im assuming that the loco and track are clean and is this the only chipped loco on your track,(Im not an expert,just trying to be helpfull)

·
No Longer Active.
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (frame69 @ 6 Feb 2009, 18:02) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Im assuming that the loco and track are clean and is this the only chipped loco on your track,(Im not an expert,just trying to be helpfull)

Provided the above is in order & every pickup is working correctly the next thing to check is that you have removed all of the capacitors.

Once you have done that & still no joy then come back - let us know how you get on anyway.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The loco is new runs ok in dc, and track is clean. not sure what the capacitors look like, don't want to snip away at something I don't understand.

·
Registered
526 Posts
Capacitors are usually little brown components that look like tiny bags with two wires. Normally wired across the motor terminals.

The Class 66, if it has lights, might well have a full circuit board. Don't touch this unless you know which part of the board does what. Modern models are usually DCC ready and it is rarely necessary to change or snip components BUT capacitors are required to be fitted for anti suppression but are not needed for DCC, thus the advice to remove them. Early decoders such as the Bachmann one you are using are less able to cope with these capacitors. you might find that fitting a better decoder will cure the problem and give you a much better insight into the delights of DCC control.

·
Dogsbody