Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (dieselweasel @ 12 Jan 2008, 03:03) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Sorry to keep banging on about this, but can anyone put a review od the NCe power cab on this thread ?

***I could...

But I think that a "user" not a reseller should do it as its very much more "street talk" if done that way

Perhaps 91C or Wiggy would be the ideal candidates (one for PowerCab and one for PowerHouse Pro) as they have some depth of DCC experience and went through other systems before they found NCE ....so have a very useful real world "owners perspective"?

So - how about it guys??

Richard
DCCconcepts
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 12 Jan 2008, 19:42) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Richard, send me one and I'll do it


BTW, I have moved all comments in the Review thread to this parallel one so that the original can remain "clean" with only reviews of the DCC products. I'll put links in each post to this thread.

***Good move Doug - I do so many E-replies per day on several lists and I do get sloppy - so both sorry and thank you!
I really do need to re-look at the thread title more carefully before I respond sometimes.

On the subject of samples.... joking aside I do have a couple of "soon to be released items" I'll send to you in the next week or two (I'm preparing the "beta" instructions for them now, so you'd better send me an address). I'd value an honest and direct MRRF review very much.

Re member reviews:

I really do like the "member reviews" from users very much as they are always looking from a real, fresh and very pragmatic way compared to magazines and professional reviewers.

They will often highlight things differently, which will either show that what the Mfr/Mags consider important is not the same as the "hands on modeller" sees, or that a product that seems to be just right has things that could be better explained in manuals or perhaps revised.

Sometimes a "Newer to DCC reviewer" just sees things others miss or take for granted!

Clever Mfrs would really take this sort of street level review such as MRF encourages at face value, instead of relying on magazines and PR people to do it...and instead of protesting as they often do, simply acknowledge, take note, find out why planning and perception are different and make changes....

THEN we'd all get the sort of product we'd all like lots more often!

Regards

Richard
DCCconcepts
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
I have a nice big layout that is designed to have different DCC control systems. I can unplug my Lenz unit and add another to test it for a day or a week. I can also isolate sections enabling specific testing of devices say a new turnout decoder. This is so that it doesn't inter fear with my other built in devices.

We are always keen on writing up reviews as quality content make the forum great.

I'll be in touch about a review of your coach lighting device. I'm just waiting for the address of our local coach expert for him to do the review.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
166 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 12 Jan 2008, 10:42) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Richard, send me one and I'll do it


BTW, I have moved all comments in the Review thread to this parallel one so that the original can remain "clean" with only reviews of the DCC products. I'll put links in each post to this thread.

Doug

I am a NCE power pro user - do not feel qualified to do a review from scratch but would be pleased to review and comment on a draft off line if that is any help. I do not use any of the accessories or decoders (they are MERG and Zimo).

BVM
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
***That was quick Ian - and well done too! A concise, clean and very informative review.
I see you found the on-screen amp-meter OK


Kind regards

Richard
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
Richard,

I had the PowerCab 6 months before finding out it had an ammeter!!

There is still so much information I missed out on in the review, but where do you stop?

I forgot to put in that it has buttons to increment speed a fast one and slow one, depending on the speed step setting.
The slow speed increment button always operates at 1 speed step.

As you know there is a short cut button that can switch between 28 and 128 speed steps;

In 28 speed step mode the increment button increases speed in steps of 4.
In 128 speed step mode the increment button increases speed in steps of 10.

So not only do you have a thumb wheel but also push buttons for speed control, it really is astonishing what they have put into this unit for the price!

Mikelhh.

You wont be disappointed!
OK the Elite and Dynamis have now come along and have a bigger screens and alpha numeric display, but the ease of use and available functions on the PowerCab are just a winning formula and nothing can really compare to it on value for money.
I do like the other two systems and I did prefer the rotary controls of the Elite, but it's let down on function control and the Select-Walkabout not having full functionality, if these two things had been sorted it would to me come a very close second, but the price would still need to come down, slightly.
The Dynamis can't read CV's and I just don't like the joystick control, it's OK saying it will read CV's when the pro-box is launched but thats going to cost extra money, which takes the price way above that of the PowerCab which is now at £89 from Bromsgrove models!!
The PowerCab is just so simple to use, and I'm sure NCE will at some point launch an updated Power Cab which has a bigger screen with the alpha numeric display.
The 3 different cabs available for the PowerCab all have full functionality.
You can even buy the Power Cab it's self called the Deluxe cab, so you can have two identical cabs on the system, although at £80 is it worth just buying a complete Powercab system for £89?
I will be doing this at some point, as it will also give you an extra 2 locos in the recall stack 2 in each controller!

You've read my blog which I have included information on connecting up a Smart Booster, this is slightly different to the standard booster!!
Standard booster just needs a 3amp power supply and will give the layout 3amps to the track.
Smart Booster also needs a 3amp power supply but it also allows 3 further cabs to be connected and will allow all of them to be unplugged and moved about in true walk about stylie....

If any one has more questions just ask away.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
i thought that the other controller not being a command staion would have a recall stack of 6 like a procab as the memory in the powercab is being used for the comand station.
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
QUOTE (redrgb @ 15 Jun 2008, 09:17) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>i thought that the other controller not being a command staion would have a recall stack of 6 like a procab as the memory in the powercab is being used for the comand station.

Would have been nice if that were the case but it's not!
Tried it yesterday on my set up, as I've just bought my dad the Delux Cab for his birthday/fathers day present, it will still give him 2 locos in the recall stack on both controllers but thats it, you don't get 6 in the recall stack.

Sorry about that!

Cheers
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (wiggy25 @ 15 Jun 2008, 22:09) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Would have been nice if that were the case but it's not!
Tried it yesterday on my set up, as I've just bought my dad the Delux Cab for his birthday/fathers day present, it will still give him 2 locos in the recall stack on both controllers but thats it, you don't get 6 in the recall stack.

Sorry about that!

Cheers

***Bear in mind you can still run way more than two loco's - its just that only two are on "one button recall". I really don't think this issue is a big one at all, especially since the way the system reacts to non-recall stack locos has been changed.

Richard
DCCconcepts
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 15 Jun 2008, 15:48) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>***Bear in mind you can still run way more than two loco's - its just that only two are on "one button recall". I really don't think this issue is a big one at all, especially since the way the system reacts to non-recall stack locos has been changed.

Richard
DCCconcepts

Richard,

NCE didn't send lots of the Version 1.28b firmware over though did they?
I know John at bromsgrove models had a few but not many.
Has NCE done any more firmware updates yet apart from the V1.28c which is for the USB interface?
More importantly do I need to send my registration card off again to get the V1.28b chip?

cheers
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (wiggy25 @ 15 Jun 2008, 23:09) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Richard,

NCE didn't send lots of the Version 1.28b firmware over though did they?
I know John at bromsgrove models had a few but not many.
Has NCE done any more firmware updates yet apart from the V1.28c which is for the USB interface?
More importantly do I need to send my registration card off again to get the V1.28b chip?

cheers

*** Ian I have no idea how many they sent to UK...

Just write to them (snail mail) or phone them and order one.... Or ask John of he can arrange one for you. either is Easier and faster (NCE are always flat out so often slowish with email)

Richard
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
The powercab arrived this week and it is the V1.28c version is this the latest software for it or is there an upgrade to it, as my supplier informed me it is the latest version to the best of his knowledge.
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
As far as I know that is the very latest version of firmware.
I had the new chip sent to me last year which was version 1.28.
NCE did release a partial update to select if you wanted the functions to switch on/off when selecting a loco out of the recall stack.
I believe this was V1.28b

The version you have V1.28C is the latest with modifications to make it work with the new USB PC interface.

If you buy the PC interface on it's own, it actually comes with V1.28C

Cheers
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (wiggy25 @ 1 Jul 2008, 16:44) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>As far as I know that is the very latest version of firmware.
I had the new chip sent to me last year which was version 1.28.
NCE did release a partial update to select if you wanted the functions to switch on/off when selecting a loco out of the recall stack.
I believe this was V1.28b

The version you have V1.28C is the latest with modifications to make it work with the new USB PC interface.

If you buy the PC interface on it's own, it actually comes with V1.28C

Cheers

***To confirm, yes, thats the current firmware. This doesn't change often - rarely more than yearl, usually longer between changes.... the last one was timely for the change in stack handling etc...

Richard
DCCconcepts
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Hi Wiggy/Richard,
Thank you for the confirmation my powercab is the current version, i'm delighted with it.
 
1 - 20 of 70 Posts
Top