Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,650 Posts
Its probably best to let Hornby explain what DCC is as they are aiming their information at absolute beginners:-

Hornby DCC information

and Bachmann have an information page too:-

Bachmann DCC information

For somebody on a tight budget and an absolute beginner to railway modelling then really its probably best to look no further than the starter systems offered by these two companies. A basic Hornby or Bachmann DCC control console and 4 locomotive decoders can be purchased for under £75 if you shop around.

Happy modelling
Gary

·
Premium Member
7,397 Posts
Of course there is the DCC information at the top of this page.

DCC FAQ

The Roco Multi Maus is also worth considering as a budget system but as Gary says the information and DCC equipment from Hornby is aimed at absolute beginners and if you are starting out this may be the best idea. The starter sets are particularly good value as you get a loco, track and DCC controller.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Just a follow-up, if you don't mind. Does anyone have any experience with the Roco system? It seems to be available fairly cheaply in their various digital starter sets (as long as you have a use for the digital German diesel loco bundled with it).

·
No Longer Active.
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (Agamemnon @ 30 Oct 2006, 15:05) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Just a follow-up, if you don't mind. Does anyone have any experience with the Roco system? It seems to be available fairly cheaply in their various digital starter sets (as long as you have a use for the digital German diesel loco bundled with it).

You can always sell it on eBay - I'm surprised at what they actually fetch considering it's a "hobby" range loco (retail around £35) with a basic decoder.

regards
Brian

·
Registered
40 Posts
Actually, since I'm not at all concerned about historical and geographical accuracy, I'd probably find use for just about any loco in the Roco lineup.

·
Premium Member