Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I'm very new to model railways and it's my first time posting here. Over lockdown I invested in a Fleischmann DCC starter set and acquired additional track with the intention of expanding the standard loop setup.

Given available space, I'm now looking to go with a shunting/switching layout below, but my question is where I place my track feeders, how many and what do I need to be mindful of when it comes to short circuits.

Proposed Layout:
Slope Electricity Parallel Rectangle Overhead power line

Sorry if I'm asking in the wrong place, but would appreciate the help of those more experienced than I.

·
Premium Member
2,870 Posts
The best way to do it is to have bus wires from the controller going round underneath the layout with thinner short wires dropped to them from every individual piece of track. However, you may be able to get away with connections at the end of every siding.

I'm not familiar with Fleischmann points so I don't know whether they need any alteration for best practice. Does the Fleischmann controller have short circuit protection? It ought to say so in the instructions.

Good luck with the project and I hope that you get as much pleasure from the hobby as I have had over many years.

·
In depth idiot
7,813 Posts
And welcome to this forum, and you are asking in the right place.

There is a good HO contingent on this site, and someone along them is likely to advise on any Fleischmann specific aspects. Typically the German manufacturers have everything 'well sorted' out of the box, so it is unlikely there is anything to worry about. It's more a matter of picking up the little wrinkles and tips to get the best from the kit you own.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for taking the time to come back to me. It's running of the Z21 Start which does have short circuit cut out.