Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am installing decoders in my kit built loco's .I have the Peco booklet DCC Decoder installation,also my decoder manual and according to the Peco illustration on page 2 the red wire goes to the left hand pick-up(although it does not state which is front or rear) the TCS manual states The red goes to the right hand pick-up or engineers side(left or right?facing to the front or rear?).
Could someone please explain in plain english.if i am stood at the rear of the train facing foreward which pick-up the red wire goes to.I have wired one in according to the Peco Illustration i.e.facing foreward red to left black to right and everything works alright, but am wondering if this is the wrong way round.
any help much appreciated.
MickD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
205 Posts
The general rule is; red is right. But it won't do any damage anything if you swap the red and black wires around, the only differance it could make is if you run the loco on DC you'd find the loco going backwards when it should be going forwards.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Lisa,
Thanks for the reply,I will alter the one I have already done.
Many Thanks.
MickD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
827 Posts
QUOTE (LisaP4 @ 2 Feb 2006, 03:15)The general rule is; red is right. But it won't do any damage anything if you swap the red and black wires around, the only differance it could make is if you run the loco on DC you'd find the loco going backwards when it should be going forwards.
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If you also follow the rule that the grey motor wire goes where the black pickup wire used to and orange where red was and swap reb and black then you will also wire the motor the wrong way round so that the loco goes backward on DCC. Easily fixed in CV29.

This was discussed on DCCUK recently. I think it is important for asymmetric braking, if you use that.

Andrew
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
sprogman,
The reason i asked about wiring was because the loco's are kit built so the wires to the motor are not forced to be in the positions you state (i wired them using what was available, not necessarily red and black).In DC it didnt matter as if the loco went the opposite way to a bought one, just swap wires or turn the motor.
I assumed with dcc that the correct wiring was essential,but it seems if red and black are for track and orange and grey are to the motor it doesnt matter which track red and black go to,and orange and grey can go to either motor terminal?
It's just a matter of doing it the same way as everyone else???.
Sorry if this rambles on a bit and seems a bit thick but it was the first decoder I had hard wired (had to pick a Bachmann V2 with split chassis didnt I)
Anyway thanks for the replies.
MickD
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
827 Posts
QUOTE (MickD @ 3 Feb 2006, 15:22)I assumed with dcc that the correct wiring was essential,but it seems if red and black are for track and orange and grey are to the motor it doesnt matter which track red and black go to,and orange and grey can go to either motor terminal?
It's just a matter of doing it the same way as everyone else???.

Yes OK, but if you don't follow the convention then it might not work if you decide to use asymmetric braking in the future (red & black swapped) and the loco may run backwards (orange & grey swapped).

Andrew
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
John,
Thanks for the explanation,(though not a lot wiser now)!
If anybody can help with another problem I would be very grateful.
I have chipped a Bachmann Standard Class 5 with a TCS MC2 decoder,but even on the 1st speed step it sets of at a brisk pace, Is there any way of slowing it down with the CV settings?As it is at the moment, the only setting I have made is the long address.I use the NCE Power Pro and all other chipped Locos really crawl along.I did have another problem with a Bachmann K3 which set off like a bullet, but after removing the suppressor it has cured the problem,Ihave also removed the suppressor from the Class 5 but It has made no difference.
Any explanation much appreciated,many thanks.
MickD
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Adjust your CV2 start voltage:

Settings that I would have (based on other locos on my layout):

CV2 - set to 2 - Minimum Speed (V Min at step 1)
CV5 - set to 120 - Max speed (V High)
CV6 - set to 40 - Acceleration Curve (V Mid)

Remember that with the TCS MC2, you can have 3 acceleration and 3 deceleration rates.

If you want to simplify acceleration (CV3) and deceleration (CV4), you can use a straight line acceleration and deceleration, but using values over 0 in CV125 allows you to set a 3 rate acceleration curve using CV125 to CV128 and a 3 rate deceleration curve using CV129 to CV132. Refer to your decoder manual for a graphical explanation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Doug,
I have tried CV2 set to 2,and it it still goes to fast for 1st speed step,have also left it at 0 as suggested in instruction sheet this says to leave it at 0 because start volts have been superseded by dither. Any other tips gratefully received. thanks in advance.
MickD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Doug,
I have the NCE Power Pro, though i dont think it is anything to do with the system as all other locos really crawl along.After fitting decoders and before setting any CVs on 128 speed step some need up to step 20 before any movement can be seen.
MickD
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
QUOTE (MickD @ 14 Feb 2006, 23:32)...After fitting decoders and before setting any CVs on 128 speed step some need up to step 20 before any movement can be seen...
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

That is what should happen. If you decoder is set correctly, then it is probably the decoder itself that is faulty. Try using another one. Don't TCS have a 'goof-proof' warranty?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Doug,
Sorry I haven't replied before (working away from Home).
Tried another MC2 and it work's perfectly.Don't know why I didn't think of doing it!.
MickD
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top