Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
G'day Everyone,

I'm building up a collection of tank locos for my planned N gauge layout. So far, I've picked up a class 94xx Pannier tank and a 45xx Prairie. I am planning to go DCC with this layout and wondered whether these locos can be fitted with DCC decoders, given their small size.

Would somebody kindly share their experiences of this situation please?

Thanks for your help,
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Jon Harbour @ 22 Aug 2008, 21:07) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>G'day Everyone,

I'm building up a collection of tank locos for my planned N gauge layout. So far, I've picked up a class 94xx Pannier tank and a 45xx Prairie. I am planning to go DCC with this layout and wondered whether these locos can be fitted with DCC decoders, given their small size.

Would somebody kindly share their experiences of this situation please?

Thanks for your help,

***The TCS M1 or ESU Micro are generally usable on smaller N scale locos.... and both chips give excellent performance.
I've chipped both those loco's with them.

Richard
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 22 Aug 2008, 15:32) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>***The TCS M1 or ESU Micro are generally usable on smaller N scale locos.... and both chips give excellent performance.
I've chipped both those loco's with them.

Richard

Sweet!


I'm coming back to Australia in November Richard... I'll be in touch.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Hi Jon,
As has been said the TCS M1 is an excellent decoder ... i have fitted it to 5 Dapol 45 XX locos it is a pleasure to do so follow this link for their installation
http://www.dapol.co.uk/index.php?option=co...8&Itemid=32
A tip with these locos is to carefully remove the cab and push on the chassis to release it from the body
One thing i didnt do in the installation was as suggested there unsolder the wires from the decoder they fit straight on ok there is no need to remove them from the chip, i do trim the clear heat shrink where the wires emerge from the chip by running a scalpel blade towards the board in line with the wires very carefully and trimming off the excess shrink in line with the board making sure the board is still covered in shrink at the edge this gives the wires more flexibility,
I also tuck any excess wire under the black motor retainer at the bottom to neaten it up seen clearly in the next to last picture in the article.
They run beautifully once converted
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,854 Posts
Hi Jon,

Being new to DCC and not being overly confident of my soldering skills I had my locos chipped professionaly by Digitrains.

In the small pannier tanks (Graham Farish 57XX, 61XX, 87XX & 94XX) and in the Dapol 14XX they fitted the CT Elektroniks chips and they work a treat. I'm still fine tuning the running characteristics but the slow running is superb.

Regards,

Expat.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I'm in exactly the same position as you Expat - not at all confident with a soldering iron and new to 'N'!


I was interested to know whether you could actually fit a chip inside the small tanks! Just about got a plan sorted out for ym layout, but I'm not going to start work on it untul my return to Australia (which will be later this year).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,854 Posts
QUOTE (Jon Harbour @ 23 Aug 2008, 14:47) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I'm in exactly the same position as you Expat - not at all confident with a soldering iron and new to 'N'!


I was interested to know whether you could actually fit a chip inside the small tanks! Just about got a plan sorted out for ym layout, but I'm not going to start work on it untul my return to Australia (which will be later this year).

Hi Jon,

With chips getting smaller almost day by day Im sure it will soon be possible to get them into Z Gauge. Having said that someone is bound to come on and say they've already done so.

While there is space in small N Gauge locos to fit the chip they can't be hidden or diguised as easily as in 00 so I think I will have to get some crew figures installed to hide the chips, or at least take the eye away from them a bit.

It will be interesting to compare notes if we meet up in November as I'm in much the same position as you. Just getting everything together and doing what I can before actually building my layout in China when I retire. At least I'm managing to get my locos programmed and run in using a rolling road.

Cheers,

Expat.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,058 Posts
Of course it's been done already Expat. :) Digitrax make the 2 function Z Scale DZ123M0 drop in decoder. Here's a link to a You Tube vid that shows Z Scale DCC in operation.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
QUOTE (poliss @ 23 Aug 2008, 14:50) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Of course it's been done already Expat. :) Digitrax make the 2 function Z Scale DZ123M0 drop in decoder. Here's a link to a You Tube vid that shows Z Scale DCC in operation.

The link makes me want to convert to Z gauge
as space is at a premium here and i could run an American layout in the living room ...... see i am lucky i dont have SWMBO to worry about
if i want to run trains i do as long as its not too late the sound loco kept in the sidings
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top