Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I found your review of the Hornby Digital sound Duchess very interesting.
I received my Duchess at Christmas & I was impressed by the sound but not having actually heard the sound before I was interested to know how authentic the sound was & it was reasuring to hear that you believed that it sounds like the prototype.
I also felt that the chuffs too loco speed was not that syncho to the acceleration of the loco.i.e. the chuffs speeded up faster than the loco.
I played arround with most of the relevant CV`s & came to the conclusion that only the acceleration & deceleration cv`s were worth changing.
What cv`s settings did you find, give in your view the best result?


With regard to the whistle sound on F2 I found that when you activate the whistle (using an Elite controller). The whistle sounded ok but the very last note stayed on (& sounded awful) until you switched it off.

I found the best way to use this whistle was to switch it on & then off.Which then sounds like the short whistle but perhaps a second longer.
I would have thought that the F2 whistle should play through & come to its logical end?
What do you think?


I have only been train modelling for just over a year & completely DCC. The majority being Hornby locos & all steam.
And there is no doubt in my mind that the sound adds another dimension to a layout so I was pleased to see that Hornby are bringing out more steam sound locos.


When I started I was thinking of buying new & secondhand locos but I have to say that the detail of the locos that Hornby are producing are excellent & with them also producing locos with the decoder fittings in the tenders makes it easier to fit a sound decoder at a later date.
Trouble is I need a bigger wallet & layout.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
100 Posts
Chuff wise you can make many more changes other than in 3 or 4; there are specific CV's for doing this and I have done this several times; sadly I don't have the list of CV's in front of me (at work), if no-one relies with the detail I'll get them on here when I get home.

With the elite (I am not familiar with it) can you assign a function to one button? if so you should if it is a pad button be able to control the length of whistle. I am aware that with the Elite you have limited choices though.

Charley
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
With the Elite it just just switches a function on or off.
There is a seperate button which switches the last function button selected on/off.
So once selected you can vary the length of time the by using the on/off button twice.
That effectively switches the function on and then off. How long the whistle sounds for can be varied by the length of time between presses.
It only works on the last F button pressed though.

I have tried other cv`s i.e.57 to 60 but could not come up with an alternative so I put them back to the Hornby settings likewise for 3 & 4.
I would be interested in your settings.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,611 Posts
I am reasonably sure that there is a cv that allows you to turn the whistle on and it automatically turns it off.

I am really pleased that hornby modellers are starting to embrace not only DCC but sound as well. It does add a whole new dimension to the hobby.

John
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Mike
The latest issue No.20 received mine through the post the other day.
My first issue as a subscriber & I am most impressed with the mag.

John
Re whistle the F9 Short whistle does just that but on my loco & with the Elite the F2 whistle stays on until you turn it off.
Is that the same for other owners of the loco & the Elite?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,611 Posts
I don't own an elite (funny that considering that my principe prOtotcol is Motorolla rather than DCC).

That being said, my understanding od loksound chips is that you can program them in terms of these sorts of sound to have and automatic off after a period of time.

Cheeers

John
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
***John - the sound is set up as looping - the primary sound setup for that has to be changed to limit the # of loop cycles and that cannot be done without a lokprogrammer and some knowledge.

No matter whats done the Elite is incredibly clumsy with sound operation/ functions compared to any other brand - it will never do what is wished as the sound concerned is programmed to be playable in length (unrestricted looping) and that needs a function button that operates only as long as it is selected - every single modeller I have met who has started with an elite changed brand very fast after adopting sound.

The same problem does not happen with my own DCCconcepts ESU Duchess sound file. Aware that hornby owners may have an Elite I set it up to work properly with it in the first place (I also used more correct Duchess sounds, sans Hamiltons air pumps and with things like "wheelslip" which is a very important "duchess" sound!)

Richard
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE the sound is set up as looping - the primary sound setup for that has to be changed to limit the # of loop cycles

I would hazard a guess that the sound has been programmed this way by ESU because ECoS controllers have a mini joystick which acts as F2 when pushed upwards and remains on for as long as you hold it there. ESU tout this as user controllable whistle duration. As an ECoS user I wouldn't mind trying that but it's of no use to anyone else if you can't program your controller's function activity.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Hi everybody and a belated Happy New Year.
Various contributors have discussed amending the CV's on the Duchess to improve the sound (Reduce the volume, delete the air pump, etc) but can someone please tell me where I can find a list of the CV's for the Duchess so I can amend mine?
Many Thanks,
Paul.

(Our Club: http://www.runnymedemodelrailwayclub.com/ )
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
The ESU manual can be found at this link http://www.esu.eu/index.php?id=293&L=2 & select LokSound V3.5
which is the decoder Hornby use in the Duchess.

NOTE The default cv`s shown in the manual are ESU`s.
You will need to read the cv`s on your decoder first & record it before changing it.
Hornby have altered some of the cv`s to operate with their sound data/loco.

SO CHECK FIRST & RECORD VALUE BEFORE ALTERING.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Hi Richard
Interesting what you say as it makes you wonder why Hornby set the F2 whistle that way.
It sounds more compatable with non Hornby contollers.
Otherwise why put the loop in?
If you do?
Why not explain so in the Operating manual for users of Hornby Elite/Select owners (i.e. those supporting all Hornby products) as to the best way to operate the whistle.
Come on Hornby surely this is basic stuff.

I see you are from DCC Concepts are you/have you sound decoders for the new Hornby Schools & T9`s were they have the decoders in the tenders.
Makes it so much easier to add you own sound later.

I kown the decoders are expensive at the moment especially with the state of the pound but hopefully in time they will drop.
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
***Hi

If you go to the ESU website, you should find the full ESU manual for the LokSound V 3.5 if it was not included with the Duchess.

If you have trouble finding it there email me or send me a PM with your direct email address and I will send it to you as a PDF file (allow me 24 hours though - its 11pm sat night here and I'm close to heading for bed).

regards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
QUOTE (john woodall @ 9 Jan 2009, 19:36) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I am reasonably sure that there is a cv that allows you to turn the whistle on and it automatically turns it off.

I am really pleased that hornby modellers are starting to embrace not only DCC but sound as well. It does add a whole new dimension to the hobby.

John
Hi Barnowl

I have the Hornby Duchess loco and my DCC system is Lenz 100. The whistle function behaves exactly the same with the Lenz controller i.e. push once to start whistle second push stops whistle so you can have a long or short whistle which ever is your preference.

Regards Mike
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 11 Jan 2009, 01:11) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>***Hi

If you go to the ESU website, you should find the full ESU manual for the LokSound V 3.5 if it was not included with the Duchess.

If you have trouble finding it there email me or send me a PM with your direct email address and I will send it to you as a PDF file (allow me 24 hours though - its 11pm sat night here and I'm close to heading for bed).

regards
It isn't included. They refer you to the ESU website so that you can download one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,611 Posts
QUOTE (Barnowl @ 11 Jan 2009, 01:54) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I kown the decoders are expensive at the moment especially with the state of the pound but hopefully in time they will drop.

There has been a previous discussion in relation to the price of sound decoders.

http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...?showtopic=7079

The EUR price has not changed that much over the years, just the price of them in relation to different countries due to FX rates.

I wont knock the Hornby controllers, but as others have pointed out there are some significant differences in the Hornby methodology as to function activation (two buttons need to be pressed) and what I would consider to be industry standard function activation (one button needs to be pressed)

John
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
***Mike - you should be able to remap the function button on the Lenz so it only stays on for as long as you hold the button down - How to do that is in the Lenz manual.

Richard
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
Hi David

many controllers have this ability, either as default ex factory (NCE, Digi) or as user configurable (lenz, some others).

Its almost essential in a controller now as good easy sound control is important.

regards

Richard

QUOTE (dwb @ 10 Jan 2009, 20:40) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I would hazard a guess that the sound has been programmed this way by ESU because ECoS controllers have a mini joystick which acts as F2 when pushed upwards and remains on for as long as you hold it there. ESU tout this as user controllable whistle duration. As an ECoS user I wouldn't mind trying that but it's of no use to anyone else if you can't program your controller's function activity.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 11 Jan 2009, 07:17) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>***Mike - you should be able to remap the function button on the Lenz so it only stays on for as long as you hold the button down - How to do that is in the Lenz manual.

Richard
Hi Richard

Thanks for the info. Have looked at remapping the function buttons before and it gave me a headache so gave up!!!!!!!!!!!!


On the subject of Chuff synchronisation, on the Duchess should I get four chuffs per rev of the driving wheels? this loco having four cylinders.

Cheers Mike
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
*** Hi Mike. A good question to ask.

Usually its 4 chuffs per revolution for a 2 cylinder loco, 6 for a 3 cylinder and logically 8 for a 4 cylinder.

However with the Duchess, because the way the valve gear and drive is arranged with one set of gear driving another and one cylinder reinforcing the other, there are 4 double chuffs per revolution - it really sounds like 4 solid chuffs rather than 8. This is relatively common with 4 cylinder locos. (I note that two US O scale companies, Rail King and MTH who will soon release a new O scale Duchess proudly announce 8 chuffs per revolution - they are wrong - as they are with many of the loco details and livery!)

This video of Hamilton shows it pretty well (and also why wheelslip is important on a Duchess sound file!)


Richard
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top