Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys

Can you help please? I have just purchased the ECOS controller on the back of the excellent write up here on the forum and have a question if I may? Whilst the instructions are pretty good I simply cannot get my head round how to increase the level of functions available from the standard 8 on the side. I know it offers 20 but cannot fathom it out.

Thanks on anticipation.

Mike
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
743 Posts
I posted this exact question about a year or so ago! You are right, it's not in the instructions but it is very easy fix!

Go to the main drive screen. Touch the fourth "button" from the left on the top row (its black with white circles). It shows all twenty functions. Just touch the function you require, select the type of function (ie light, sound...) and that's you! From then its available.

Hope that helps,

Rob
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
QUOTE Oh, now why didn't I think of that? Thanks very, I shall try it tonight. I spent ages last night trying to find out the answer :-(

It's not blindingly obvious. Like so many icons, you only recognise them /after/ you've been told what they represent...

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
266 Posts
QUOTE (neil_s_wood @ 18 Dec 2008, 19:56) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I only found this out by trial and error. I didn't have anyone to ask at the time.

Trial and error for me too back in Nov 06.
Just touch icons on screen and see what you get. That is what I did.

Ian
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
100 Posts
Guys

Methinks I just about have it all in the memory banks now aside from just one issue; and I would ask for some guidance if I may?

When changing CV's and I would wish to use CV29 as an example. In say 29 I note the first part is to change direction with either 0 or 1. In itself simplicity; what I am struggling to get my grey matter round is how to progress forward to individual bit changes which many CV's currently contain. I won't use anything other than DCC so wish to turn off analogue, I cannot though no matter how hard I try work out how to do it. I won't be bothering with longer addresses as it is simply not necessary in the ECOS, I very much like the names feature.

If you can tell me in "how to do this for dummy's" I would be really grateful.

Thanks In anticipation

Mike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
100 Posts
Neil

Thanks for that; if I then use the advanced facility how then for instance would I go to section 2 of CV 29 and enter appropriately? Is it self explanatory?

I also notice on your blog you have the Merlin from MF, and were considering a sound project. I actually completed it last night with an A4 3cyl SWD Loksound chip. I opted for a tender speaker installation with plugs from loco to tender to allow splitting. I have wired in series with a support speaker in the nose to diffuse any effect of tender only sound; I also mounted a Seuthe 22 while it was apart.

Testing the Merlin last night after completing the conversion she does sound really good and the Seuthe is puffing away thanks to a good find in terms of a really good oil to use (Its crucial on the amount as well IMO) So with ECOS at the ready and the Merlin sat ready, I pressed the sound function followed by lights (wired yellow and white for smoke) and away she went, adjusted dither and 3 & 4 to get sound to match movement which does take a while to get right (but worth it, again, IMO). Just need to pop in some real coal to cover the speaker holes in the existing coal bed and other than light to medium weathering she is done. I may fit a fire box light at a later date.

WATCH the speedo drive when taking apart to get the body off, the shim has a habit of flying off (see both wife and I trawling the carpet with magnets to find it
)

Cheers

Mike
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE (Charley Farley Trelawney @ 22 Dec 2008, 21:31) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Neil

Thanks for that; if I then use the advanced facility how then for instance would I go to section 2 of CV 29 and enter appropriately? Is it self explanatory?

I also notice on your blog you have the Merlin from MF, and were considering a sound project. I actually completed it last night with an A4 3cyl SWD Loksound chip. I opted for a tender speaker installation with plugs from loco to tender to allow splitting. I have wired in series with a support speaker in the nose to diffuse any effect of tender only sound; I also mounted a Seuthe 22 while it was apart.

Testing the Merlin last night after completing the conversion she does sound really good and the Seuthe is puffing away thanks to a good find in terms of a really good oil to use (Its crucial on the amount as well IMO) So with ECOS at the ready and the Merlin sat ready, I pressed the sound function followed by lights (wired yellow and white for smoke) and away she went, adjusted dither and 3 & 4 to get sound to match movement which does take a while to get right (but worth it, again, IMO). Just need to pop in some real coal to cover the speaker holes in the existing coal bed and other than light to medium weathering she is done. I may fit a fire box light at a later date.

WATCH the speedo drive when taking apart to get the body off, the shim has a habit of flying off (see both wife and I trawling the carpet with magnets to find it
)

Cheers

Mike
Hi Mike,

if you got to the advanced edit section there are numerous pages that you can go through. Flick through them till you find CV29. From memory they are split into different pages and some are on different pages from others. This is the page that hs CV29.2Just tick the box.



I have already installed a SWD A4in my A4 Woodcok. I believe I put up a video of it on a thread somewhere a few months ago. It is a nice sound although does sound artificial at speed steps 4 and below. All in it is pretty good. I connected my speakers in parallel for louder sound. I added a 40 by 20. The speedo is a pain in the butt. Shame they don't design these better and take into consideration that people will be installing decoders in these.

cheers Neil
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
Neil's A4 thread is here

One of my Christmas projects is fitting the SWD A4 chip to my Hornby A4. Since this is a pre 1956 model, I don't have to worry about the speedo. I ought to worry about putting a double chimney sound in a single chimney loco, but I'll turn a deaf ear to that.

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE (dwb @ 23 Dec 2008, 07:55) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Neil's A4 thread is here

One of my Christmas projects is fitting the SWD A4 chip to my Hornby A4. Since this is a pre 1956 model, I don't have to worry about the speedo. I ought to worry about putting a double chimney sound in a single chimney loco, but I'll turn a deaf ear to that.

David
When I first read that I thought you were going to take the knife to a valuable collectors item. It then dawned on me that you meant a model of pre 1956 A4.
Bit slow on the uptake today.

Neil
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
QUOTE take the knife

It's going to be a Dremel actually; once I've unwrapped it of course


QUOTE a valuable collectors item.
Well there should be 2999 happy collectors out there as I remove the interior of A.K.McKosh's tender from a Hornby train pack - limited to 3000? - and render it less priced, but more fun!

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
QUOTE (dwb @ 22 Dec 2008, 21:55) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Neil's A4 thread is here

One of my Christmas projects is fitting the SWD A4 chip to my Hornby A4. Since this is a pre 1956 model, I don't have to worry about the speedo. I ought to worry about putting a double chimney sound in a single chimney loco, but I'll turn a deaf ear to that.

David

David

Thank you for the link. Absopositively excellent :) And Neil thank you for the shot of teh ECOS, that helps a lot and is exactly what I was after. I spent a couple of hours last night setting up the CV's of the Merlin to be as close as possible to wheel movement and managed to set the smoke alarm off as I was wanting teh seuthe unit to bed in well, trouble is with the new oil I use she really pumps it out and with smoke alarm sounding, dogs going mad, and me fanning the detector on the ceiling to get it to stop, I eventually gave up as I couldn't hear a thing! My ears were ringing.

Tonight I shall fit the Deltic chip to my Deltic; Richard of DCC concepts was as good as his word, it arrived in just 3 days from Auz, so with speakers mounted, it just remains to get the chip in (once I pick up a 21 to 8 pin adaptor today (not brave enough to solder on directly) and have a play.

The Merlin is all but complete and teh next steam outing is teh 4MT Bachmann model that arrived yesterday, I'd like to pop in smoke but understand the Bachmanns are a tad awkward? I'll go for sound fitment in the loco (if room) to avoid a connecting set of wires from loco to tender; I can see some serious milling coming on, still , will know more once the body is off. After that just a class 37 to convert and I have run out of stock to convert to sound/lights/smoke so may go back to some of the original ones to improve before seeing what bargains are about in the January sales.

Cheers

Mike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Thanks for all your help; I now have the ECoS controller virtually tamed and have just been running up the NRM Deltic and Merlin, both are good and with some playing around with CV's have got them just how I enjoy it. On the ECoS can you run a non DCC loco? I wanted to run in a couple of new ones and stupidly I felt address 0 would be the trick but I only get a brief movement although lights and all have come on; any thoughts? I can't see it in the instructions.

Oh final question, is it me or am I missing something on the ECoS forums? It won't let me in due to high numbers registering but I can only see 3 threads, as I said, am I missing it for the trees?

Thanks

Mike
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
562 Posts
Hi Mike

It sings and does a lot of dances but running pure DC is not one them.

If you do have a DC controller and an oval don't forget to set CV29 Bit 2 ON to allow analogue use. A partially run down PP3 9v battery might be sufficient, the motor will be OK with a new one but it might be a bit too lively if the works are a bit stiff.

I bought a basic oval pack of KATO track to use with a DC controller for running in and also connect it to my ECoS for programming.

As far as the ESU site is concerned it looks like they may have screwed up. I think they are not ready for the English forum to come on line and someone has released new passwords to the existing registered users too early. No doubt they will sort it out when they return to work next year.

Chris
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top