Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Had a little more of a play about now.

In the manual it says that normal running the loco when going forwards the direction arrow shown on the screen will point to the left.
Yep no problem.
One of my loco's the arrow points to the right, so I thought lets change the direction.
In the manual this can be done on the main or on the program track.
I tried first on the main..........no luck, and not only that but after you have tried it, you have no control over the loco, I had to re-address it on the program track, and the direction hadn't changed.

I thought try it on the program track.....exactly the same thing happened.

So then I thought lets try directly programming CV29.
So I did and still nothing and I still had to re address the loco otherwise there was no control at all, it was like the loco wasn't even there.

I then tried the Powercab and programed CV29 with first the value of 34, which is normal direction.
and then with a value of 35 which is reversed.

After each value entered, I tested the running on the Eite and sure enough the loco went forwards but direction arrows had indeed changed direction.

I tried entering 34 and 35 into CV29 using the Elite but it wouldn't have it, just kept reading 35.
I did alter CV2 (start voltage) and it did read back the value I had entered.

I have tried this with 3 different locos all with different decoders, same thing with all 3.

Next!
Functions!

I ran a loco on controller 1 and left this trundling around the track.
I then selected controller two assigned a loco to it and started that running.
While controller 2 was in operation I selected a function number, as soon as I went back to main screen the function had switched on for controller 1 and controller 2.
I selected controller 1 turned the function off, then went back to controller 2 and was able to control the function on/off without it turning on/off for controller 1.
Seems that the initial function selection is operating on both control knobs, after that it will revert back to independent control.

Also in the manual it does say when assigning an address the red LED will flash 5 times and then the screen will change, mine flashes 15 times then the screen will change.

When changing a CV value though it does only flash 5 times before the screen changes.
In all of the programming the loco does move slightly so I assume it is getting the infomation.

I think a new firmware update is required.

Ian
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
257 Posts
Looks as though your tests mirror my results posted earlier! The inability to change CV29 is a real issue.

Regards

John R
Bromsgrove Models
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
From what I have heard, the v1.1 firmware fixes this issue. Please report back with your findings.

What decoder are you using?

Just to clarify, Entering a value of 34 into CV29 is 32 (extended addressing) + 2 (28 speed step mode) + 0 (normal direction)

Entering a value of 35 into CV29 is 32 (extended addressing) + 2 (28 speed step mode) + 1 (reversed direction)
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 18 Apr 2007, 22:09) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>From what I have heard, the v1.1 firmware fixes this issue. Please report back with your findings.

What decoder are you using?

Just to clarify, Entering a value of 34 into CV29 is 32 (extended addressing) + 2 (28 speed step mode) + 0 (normal direction)

Entering a value of 35 into CV29 is 32 (extended addressing) + 2 (28 speed step mode) + 1 (reversed direction)

The decoder is a ESU loksound.
The figures above are exactly right.

I have managed to get the direction to work now!
When in the 'Config' mode the first choice is the direction, you select which one and then press the control knob to confirm.
this then brings up another few selections.

POWER: DCC + DC
DCC
RailCOM: Enable
Disable
Addressing: Short
Extended
Decoder type: Multi
Accessory

The problem was when I was pressing the control knob to confirm the settings I was going too quick!
When I got to the extended addressing I was pressing the control knob and slightly turning it so, yes I had selected extended addressing but when I pressed the control knob I turned it slightly so it saved it as short!!!!!!!!!
DOH!!

Anyway after double checking that the direction will now change on the main using 'operate' mode and on the program track using 'direct' mode.

Still can't program CV29 and read it back, with the value I put in.

I tried again and put in a value of 34 into CV29, read it back and yipee it read back as 34.
Put the engine on the main line ran it forwards then backwards.
Put it onto the program track and read the CV29 value.................35!!!
Connected the Powercab to the program track and read CV29................34!!

Very strange, it's almost there but not quite.

Ian
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
That is a curious result on the CV29 read back and I will try out a similar excercise later.

A good point has been made on the Hornby Forum that a Lenz Gold decoder could be used as a benchmark for any testing of any console.

Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (Gary @ 19 Apr 2007, 10:27) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>A good point has been made on the Hornby Forum that a Lenz Gold decoder could be used as a benchmark for any testing of any console.

To me that would be a sensible benchmark - sure there are arguably "better" or more "preffered" decoders but IMHO the Lenz Gold is probably the easiest obtainable top end decoder in the UK.

& before anyone pipes up "but you can get the XG41mkII with tea making option" anywhere, there are at least five retailers in Kent who stock Lenz !
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
536 Posts
I have to agree.

Using the Lenz gold as the "Bench mark" for testing is definitely the way forward.
Now, I wonder if any manufactures will take this on board?
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Why use a Lenz gold???

The ESU Loksound decoder is an expensive well specified decoder, why do or should I need to test with a £26 decoder?

It should work with the ones I have?

Besides the ESU Loksound I'm using a Digitrax DZ123 and then the basic Bachmann decoder that they put in the kit locos.

Ian
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
You did get a good deal on those Lenz decoders Doug.

As you know I have a goody bag for you! Lets wait until May time and we can sort some plans out.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the ESU or any other decoder so please don't take it the wrong way wiggy.

Lenz are perceived as being the Godfathers of DCC and as Doug says its always useful to have a benchmark when making comparisons or testing equipment. When I picked up on the comment on the Hornby Forum it did seem like a sensible suggestion to pass on.

Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
Something I have picked up on tonight when checking out Operate Mode and Direct Mode programming with reference to CV29 is that the Elite Config function does not cover speed step configuration but does cover Multi or Acc decoder classification.

Speed steps is set up using Features. Now I do not know how this impacts at all on CV29 and Config and any read and write values of this CV.

Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
QUOTE (Gary @ 20 Apr 2007, 00:25) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>...Speed steps is set up using Features...
Is that not the speed steps setting of the Elite unit itself.

CV29 sets the speed steps of the decoder. The control unit and the decoder need to have the same speed step setting or else there may be problems. Nothing too serious, but it can impair good operation.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,650 Posts
I think you are right Doug. The Features menu relates to Elite set up. Bachmann and Hornby mention speed steps in the decoder leaflets that accompany the products as part of CV29 but this does not get a mention in the Elite Config menu but alternative things do. So without futher experimentation its a little unclear how using Config effects the value of CV29 which can be altered and read directly anyway. However I'm not that fussed about this so somebody else who is keen to find out can do the testing!


Happy modelling
Gary
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Tried a few things now and it seems to program CV29 and read back ok.
I actually read the Loksound decoder manual, I know it's just not a done thing!

On page 23 paragraph 5.3.2 there is an interesting statement:-

"There is no 'one fit's all' instruction for programming CV's with various DCC systems. There are too many differences between the popular DCC systems.
Whenever possible you should use the DCC direct mode or DCC paged mode.

So thats what I have done, put the engine of the program track and press the menu button. select LOCO and then rotate control knob until PAGED is displayed then scroll round to CV and select WRITE. enter the CV number to change, press control knob to confirm.
Enter the new CV value and press control knob to confirm.
Read back the value, I entered 34 and it read back as 34.
Ran the engine on the track for 5mins then placed back on the program track and again selected PAGED mode.
Selected CV, the READ, read back 34.

In this mode when it's encoding, the red LED flashes about 7 times not 5, but the engine does move slightly and it does seem to program it ok.

So if it seems not to program a decoder try using a different mode?

Oh and the other settings in config mode:-

Direction normal
RailCom enabled
Speed curves 2, 5, 6
Address Extended
Decoder Multi

Ian
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top