Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hiya guys,

I'm quite new to dcc and I'm chuffed I've managed to add decoders to all my old locos except the Hornby Evening Star and a Hornby Mallard. These two have stumped me!

Both are old locos with Ringfield Motors in the tender. I can only see one pickup wire instead of the normal two wires which confused me. After browsing the net for info I've gathered that I'd need to insulate something or other in order to chip them. Did'nt really make much sense to me.

Any help/advice/pointers/web links/diagrams/or photos on how to chip them would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

bren

·
Administrator
9,845 Posts
If you look at the motor bearing clip which doesn't have a wire attached, you'll find that it is connected electrically directly to the tender chassis. This is the connection you have to break by adding insulation between the clip and chassis. Then you need to take a wire from the chassis to the decoder and another from the decoder back to the clip.

That's all I can help you with as I've not tried to convert either of these. I'm sure there must be diagrams on how to do it somewhere and that someone will be along shortly to post a link

David

·
Premium Member
774 Posts
Ahhhh I have just spent the last 20-25 minutes trying to find the link on here where I posted on this subject with some pictures on how it is done. I would upload again but due to my location I cant.

Someone will find it.

Sorry

m

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hi, Brendan, Yes this can be done cos I have done it, trouble is i cant locate my drawing of how its done, i will have a look this evening for you.
I need to know how many wires are coming from the tender pin that connects to the loco? is it one or two.
There may also be a problem with the screws that hold the brush holder to the motor body, or is yours the clip in type? if so no problem.