Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Coming on really well far-lands, one suggeston if its possible can you put the locking latches underneath the boards instead of on top as they take up valuable layout space.
 

·
Chief mouser
Joined
·
11,775 Posts
Looks good so far, and a fine eclectic mixture of rolling stock to boot!

Regards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
QUOTE (BRITHO @ 20 Oct 2008, 13:30) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Looks good so far, and a fine eclectic mixture of rolling stock to boot!

Regards

I started to collect BR era, but somehow mr. ebay widened my horizon.
The only theme I do have is "Steam Only" ( well, all exept a german railcar and a GWR flying banana )
The German railcar is one of a few Diesel/Electric relics left to me by my ex. My son plays with them now, but I dont keep them on my layout.

I must say that I do prefer the Tri-ANG stock, as they are "toys" and my son can play with them. I won't let him touch my newer stock yet, as they are too fragile for a 7 yr old to appreciate.

My only problem is that the new track is not magnetic. So Magnadhesion will not work. I suppose I will have to weighten down the locos somewhat.

But apart from that. All BR and GWR steam welcome.
 

·
Chief mouser
Joined
·
11,775 Posts
QUOTE (far-lands @ 20 Oct 2008, 13:18) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>The German railcar is one of a few Diesel/Electric relics left to me by my ex. My son plays with them now, but I dont keep them on my layout.

Presumably that includes the wine red 218? Actually I'm surprised that our resident 218 collector hasn't spotted it!

Regards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Well spotted guys, I forgot all about that one on the turntable.

Although I live in the fatherland, I am not at all interested in the German Railways

I prefer my good old BR/GWR Steam locos.

Ah well, gotta get some work done now, but I will be glueing some more track down this evening. ( The last b4 XMAS )
Building has come to a grinding halt due to lack of Materials and necessary funds.......
I do hope Santa will take a hint or two of mine..

far-lands
 

·
Chief mouser
Joined
·
11,775 Posts
QUOTE (far-lands @ 21 Oct 2008, 05:23) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Building has come to a grinding halt due to lack of Materials and necessary funds.......

Ain't that the truth.....

Regards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,499 Posts
Great looking layout! how long has it been since you started on it. Love the 3 bridges they look very good. Is it going to be a river under them or a roadway.

The track looks very impressive. Like all the crossovers and points, Are they the setrack type?.

New boy Paul.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
QUOTE (madon37s @ 21 Oct 2008, 18:27) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Great looking layout! how long has it been since you started on it. Love the 3 bridges they look very good. Is it going to be a river under them or a roadway.

The track looks very impressive. Like all the crossovers and points, Are they the setrack type?.

New boy Paul.

Hi Paul, I started in April by making the tables. I want to make my layout dismantleable. If the worst comes to the worst, then I can take the whole thing apart and move it elsewhere.
As a kid I had a few train boards, but when we moved, my boards always seemed to get left behind as they were too big and bulky to take apart and transport. My layout is not a portable one, just dismantleable if really needed.

The bridges are Märklin ones off fleabay. They really look the job. At the moment I will be planning the layout on 3 Tracks ( 4th, 3rd and 2nd radius ) But I will be leaving the space just in case my junior wants the 1st radius to do a full 360. The inside track will be a end to end line, with the bridge either being repaired after destruction in the war, newly constructed or just discontinued due to the beeching act. Under the bridges I want a road and a double line section. I have even thought about making a canal, but it would have to be raised. But I suppose that that would not be too ununsual.

All of my track is going to be hornby settrack. I am getting rid of my old rusty steel track with broken sleepers fron pinning down and pulling up again. I am not ballasting the track, just glueing on top of the gaugemaster underlay. The gaps between will be covered in pva and then filled with scatter. I don't want to create the world in miniature, I want a layout to play with and enjoy without worrying about details.

My layout is based somewhere in the west country ( Ex GWR ) Timewise it could be anytime ( post grouping to preserved main line operation )
Anything goes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
QUOTE (upnick @ 19 Oct 2008, 10:58) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Coming on really well far-lands, one suggeston if its possible can you put the locking latches underneath the boards instead of on top as they take up valuable layout space.

locking latches are just a temp thing. I haven't a clue yet as of how to fix the section ensuring total alignment of the tracks......
I suppose I will have to go down to my local DIY shop and have a look what fittings I can come up with.....

far-lands
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top