Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I have a Liliput L.170110 Class 99 0-6-2 Tank Loco `Zillertalbahn`. I have fitted a cTelektronik DCX74z decoder to this loco. The loco was well run in on Dc before I fitted it and ran okay. After fitting the decoder, I programed it with the Roco Multimaus, but I was not sure if I had done this correctly, but when I tried the loco it ran okay. Whilst altering some menu settings in the multimaus, the decoder was getting quite warm while the loco was stationary. I ran it for a while more and it was okay, but when I tried it later, it would not work and I could not program the decoder. Have I burnt out the decoder, or has anyone any ideas, as I am new to DCC. I have the Roco Digital Starter set, and the loco with the start set is oaky. Thanks
Martin

·
Just another modeller
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Metroman @ 14 Jul 2008, 06:18) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi,
I have a Liliput L.170110 Class 99 0-6-2 Tank Loco `Zillertalbahn`. I have fitted a cTelektronik DCX74z decoder to this loco. The loco was well run in on Dc before I fitted it and ran okay. After fitting the decoder, I programed it with the Roco Multimaus, but I was not sure if I had done this correctly, but when I tried the loco it ran okay. Whilst altering some menu settings in the multimaus, the decoder was getting quite warm while the loco was stationary. I ran it for a while more and it was okay, but when I tried it later, it would not work and I could not program the decoder. Have I burnt out the decoder, or has anyone any ideas, as I am new to DCC. I have the Roco Digital Starter set, and the loco with the start set is oaky. Thanks
Martin

***Hello Martin

The simple wiring rules are:

(1) Both motor brushes must be totally isolated from both rails.
(2) Remove any suppression components from the loco
(3) insulate all decoder wires that are not physically connected