Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
G'day there!

I joined this forum about two weeks ago after lurking for a while. I used to have a model railway when I was younger, but have recently decided to get back into it. In my younger days, I had a Hornby OO layout, which cold not really have been considered a serious track of any kind, but this time around, I'm looking more at N gauge to make more use of the space in my house back in Sydney. The lyout I'm planning will almost certainly be DCC powered, as I work in IT and I'm very interested in computer-driven automation. I'm currently working in the UK, but it is likely that I'll be heading back home when my current assignment is up.

I originally lurked here to get a feel for what people are doing and draw some inspiration, and this forum has certainly lived up to that! Hopefully I'll be able to contribute something as well.

·
Chief mouser
11,775 Posts
Hi Jon

Welcome to the forum, it's certainly unusual to have an Aussie up here - it's normally the other way round!

Enjoy your visits.

Regards

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys - I agree it is ironic for an Aussie to come and work over here, but my employers made me a very good offer!

·
Premium Member
4,854 Posts
Hi Jon and welcome to the MRF from another expat, particularly as you're another N Gauger like myself.

I'm stuck midway between the UK and Oz so everything has to be shipped out to me or hand-carried on leave trips. Not sure if I have the worst of both worlds or the best of both worlds.

Enjoy your modelling,

Expat.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
You based in Dubai Expat? I used to live in Abu Dhabi.

·
Premium Member
4,854 Posts
QUOTE (Jon Harbour @ 10 Jun 2008, 16:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>You based in Dubai Expat? I used to live in Abu Dhabi.

Yup.