Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

The current Hornby OO Western Pullman set (R1048) and the new Hornby GWR Western Pullman DCC set both contain Pullman 1st Class Parlour Cars R223 (the former also contains 3rd Class cars R233) and yet it would appear that Hornby don't sell these individually (and I can't find an online store with any in stock).

Any ideas how Hornby expect people to expand these sets with extra cars?

I'm no great expert as I am just starting out so any advice on extra cars that would "fit the theme" that can be bought would also be appreciated.

Thx,
Stephen

·
Registered
334 Posts
These appear to be the older Pullmans that Hornby were producing a few years ago and they seem to be still using them in sets. There are plenty to be had on Ebay and I suspect the odd model shop will still be selling them but not too many online at the moment.

The alternative is to upgrade to the newer super Hornby production of Pullmans with working lights etc which will cost you a lot more(£20 +) and some of the purists might say they are the wrong coaches to be part of this train.

Pity you didn't say earlier I have just sold 5 of the originals on Ebay.

·
Registered
243 Posts
I too have this set and will be searching ebay when i have the money to expand from 4 to 8 coaches,but you could always buy the set again to get another 4 which i might do yet,and that way i have spare loco too.

·
Registered
763 Posts
If you buy the individual cars on ebay make sure they come with the name or number sets as they have 4 different ones to be fitted by the modeller. I assume the ones in the sets are prenamed.
Also the older pullman cars were used in a lot of other sets and train packs so different numbers and names can be found that way possibly split up from sets.
Just make sure you don't get the really old triang ones as they are a lot shorter (approx 9inch long).

·
Registered
111 Posts