Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello people!

I'm new to this forum so thought I'd just say hi.

I've been a lover of steam trains ever since childhood and recently I decided to fulfil a dream of my youth and build my own OO gauge layout for the first time.
As a complete novice the experience wasn't without its challenging moments, but I feel pretty happy with the end result and thoroughly enjoyed myself - not to mention learnt lots!

I thought id post a few photos of the layout, as I've never had any opinions from fellow enthusiasts yet.
I was going for a fictional modern-era 'preserved railway' look, as my experience and skills weren't up to the task of replicating a past times real-life location:

Its not fully complete yet, im still messing about with little bits - but I'll post some more shots later if you like these...

Thanks for looking!

·
DT
4,794 Posts
I like these photos.They are all at real-life perspective. Good lighting and composition. Only the background that distracts slightly, but we see from your wall art that you are keen on planes, trains and canal boats

Welcome to the forum, please show more photos and perhaps give us a track plan.

·
Registered
243 Posts
That is a really nice looking layout you got there and as Doug said more photos and maybe a track plan but also how about a photo of the overall layout.

You have some great locos there and i want to get the Mallard to go with my steam fleet.

·
Registered
982 Posts
Very nice Edzmen. as others have said would quite like a trackplan to put scenes in perspective. However, you certainly have an eye for some good scenes.

Russell

·
Administrator
9,844 Posts
I like the clumps of grass growing in and around the rails, very effective. The shot of the GWR 2-8-0 shows just how much wider GWR locos were across the cylinders. This feature limited their ability to travel outside their area.

David

·
Registered
370 Posts