Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear All,

Hi, I am new to the model rail hobby. I live in the UK and while searching for a starter kit, I came across Hornby models at Daniel store. This week, during my holiday visit to the Brussels, I saw Marklin models as well. Would you please advice me on selecting the right setup and good foundation for model trains so that I can expand it over the years.

Many Thanks

Warm Regards
Adiesun

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Dear All,

Thank you very much for your responsiveness and positive statements. As advised by most of you, I need to do study and research before I go ahead with the investment. Since I am new, I guess it will take sometime for me to understand the technical details of the rail networks.

Many thanks again for your help.

Cheers
Adiesun

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Hi Doug, dbclass, Britho and others dear members,

Based on your advice I have done some study over the past couple of weeks and visited few shops.

At the moment, I have narrowed down my search to Hornby Digital Train set for two reasons:
1. I live in the UK (Maidenhead) so I guess Hornby models (and parts) will be accessible
2. I like the style and class of the trains running in the UK and associate myself with them.

If you have some final advice for me, please let me know.
Also, if you can tell me about your preferred online stores or shops in the UK to buy Hornby train models (I plan to buy Hornby Pendolino DCC Train Set Product Code: R1076). I am surprised that most of the stockists listed in the Berkshire areas are closed on Sunday and others do not have this model (talking of accessibility hmmm! sometime forces me to think for Marklin but can't find appropriate store/shop for this either and finding it more expensive).

Warm Regards
Adiesun

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Dear dwd, Britho, Doug and Members,