Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Texas via the UK
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Just getting back into OO railway models after 25 years out. I now have the money and space but not much time, whereas 25 years ago I had the time but no money or space.

I live just outside of Houston, Texas now, but I’m from Chester and lived in Edinburgh for a long time. I’ve a rough design for an idealised Edinburgh Waverley, Pitlochry layout loop with a 3D printed (shortened) Firth of Forth rail bridge.

I’ve just spent a small fortune buying used trains on EBay U.K. and Hattons Trunk, I think I’ve bought 11 steam and diesel locos so far. I’m excited to start building the layout.

I also bought my 3 year old son a Hornby Percy and Thomas train set for £50, so going to make a small basic layout for him to play with so he won’t destroy mine. Fingers crossed.

Hopefully in time I can contribute to the community. My background is a web developer.

Thanks,
Alex

·
Administrator
10,020 Posts
Welcome to the Forum. I hope you get plenty of enjoyment from returning to the hobby.

David

·
In depth idiot
8,346 Posts
Sounds like fun. I am at the Southern end of one of the Waverley routes, modelling the KX area. Sadly Scotland is not yet perfectly supplied with suitable RTR models for your location, but I can heartily commend the Hornby J36 which is from Hornby';s top drawer.

·
Registered
Texas via the UK
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sounds like fun. I am at the Southern end of one of the Waverley routes, modelling the KX area. Sadly Scotland is not yet perfectly supplied with suitable RTR models for your location, but I can heartily commend the Hornby J36 which is from Hornby';s top drawer.
Thanks for the warm welcome. Southern end like the borders region or further afield? I used to get the train back and from Chester to Waverley a lot when I lived in Edinburgh or Livingston in the 2000’s.