Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,854 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have just joined MRF today so thought I would introduce myself to you all. I'm an absolute beginer at this Forum lark so please forgive any transgressions I might make.

My name is Trevor and I am presently living and working in Dubai. With retirement looming (3 years from now) I decided that it was time I started doing something about that 'dream layout' I have been promising myself for the last 20 years. Due to space limitations I am going down the N Gauge track, if you will forgive the pun, and have designed a 3m x 3.5m layout which will run round 3 sides of the spare bedroom. The spare bedroom, by the way, is located in an apartment in Guilin, SW China which I have recently bought. My wife is Chinese and this is her home town.

Getting back to the layout, I have already purchased quite a bit of equipment during the course of trips to the UK, all of which has had to be hand-carried back here to Dubai. I will be using DCC Control with an ECos ESU Command Station and a Bus system which, so I am advised by Digitrains, is current 'state-of-the-art' stuff. My era is Post war GWR though not even they could have envisaged trains running this far East.

I look forward to chatting with all you guys and girls and, hopefully, being able to pick your brains when I hit a problem.

Regards to you all,

Trevor.

P.S. Help request No. 1. I tried attaching a jpeg file of my intended layout but it keeps asking for a URL address. All I want to do is attach a picture from my PC. Any ideas ???

·
Premium Member
4,854 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the information Peter.

I have already uploaded some pics to Photobucket so all I need to do now is make the 2 talk to each other.