Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I have newly developed this hobby of railway modelling. I started with TGV set, but that was analog, and people suggested to start all the way with DCC, for various benifits. So I bought the R1076, not only because of the looks, but also because of the tilt, the rbight lights and overall finish. Now I am planning to extend my collection by adding T22090 Mrce BR185, a Trix loco. Does anyone here have it, can you guide me on which one will be the best as starter loco, considering DCC and cost? The one I have mentioned here is DCC fitted. many thanks for your help in advance

regards,
Shyam
 

·
Chief mouser
Joined
·
11,775 Posts
Hi Shyam and welcome to MRF.

I don't have the loco you quoted, but I feel certain that one of our members will have. one thing is certain though - if it's Trix it will run well and have ample weight.

Regards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
296 Posts
I've just bought in the last two weeks 4 BR185 from Trix with a view of turning them into my imaginary railway's backbone engine. The first run on them using analogue produced excellent result. They look and run beautifully. I have yet to try running them on DCC but I imagine they are troopers in that too.

I don't know how much your Trix costed - but I managed to get mine for a little under 60 EUR here in Belgium, making them an excellent entry-level purchase.
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
Welcome to MRF,

Keep a look out for some of "budget" Trix locos - about £55/60 with built in decoders. *-wheel drive & pickup & a metal body - excellent runners too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Hi Shyam

Welcome

I have the DB BR185 from TRIX with 4 pantographs I bought it for 57 pounds. It runs very well and I simply love it. However I can not program it using my Hornby Select DCC controller. It would not change address, Acc / De-Acc delay etc. Had to take it to my local shop in Ipswich to get the address changed. Which we finally achieved using Bachmann E-Z controller after a couple of tries. I left the rest of the programming alone for the time being till I get a better controller.

(it does say on the manual that they can not gurantee "trouble free" programming if not using selectrix controllers) I dont know if others have had the same problems when using non selectrix dcc controllers

All this did not deter me from buying OBB Hercules from Trix also at a great price 50 pounds. Trix models are not as detailed but are very sturdy and from what I hear last you for ages. Also if you prefer metal over plastic these are the best value for money. I would not miss trix special offers in future as well.

cheers

Railquest
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
QUOTE (railquest @ 25 Sep 2008, 10:48) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Shyam

Welcome

I have the DB BR185 from TRIX with 4 pantographs I bought it for 57 pounds. It runs very well and I simply love it. However I can not program it using my Hornby Select DCC controller. It would not change address, Acc / De-Acc delay etc. Had to take it to my local shop in Ipswich to get the address changed. Which we finally achieved using Bachmann E-Z controller after a couple of tries. I left the rest of the programming alone for the time being till I get a better controller.

(it does say on the manual that they can not gurantee "trouble free" programming if not using selectrix controllers) I dont know if others have had the same problems when using non selectrix dcc controllers

All this did not deter me from buying OBB Hercules from Trix also at a great price 50 pounds. Trix models are not as detailed but are very sturdy and from what I hear last you for ages. Also if you prefer metal over plastic these are the best value for money. I would not miss trix special offers in future as well.

cheers

Railquest

Hi All,

Many thanks for your help, and letting me know about the details. May I know what is the default address of the Loco? I also have got same select controller, does it allow to switch on and off the lights using that? £57 with DCC fitted is a nargain by all means!!!! Surely I shall go with it.

Cheers
Shyam
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
you can switch the lights on and off no problems using the function button, they always light up in the direction of travel. The default address is 3. It has characteristic "yellow" lights which is unrealistic. Go for it if you are not put off by such things.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
QUOTE (railquest @ 25 Sep 2008, 12:25) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>you can switch the lights on and off no problems using the function button, they always light up in the direction of travel. The default address is 3. It has characteristic "yellow" lights which is unrealistic. Go for it if you are not put off by such things.
Bought it yesterday, really nice piece. The running on DCC is silky smooth, does not give any jitter at all unlike my Pendolino at slow speeds. Can anyone please let me know why the locos normally run slower than train packs? Is it because the motor design?

Cheers
Shyam
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
296 Posts
I think it's encoded with the real engine's fastest speeds, thereby making for a more realistic run
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
QUOTE (Kimbo @ 26 Sep 2008, 21:28) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I think it's encoded with the real engine's fastest speeds, thereby making for a more realistic run

One more thing I got to know is unlike DC Braking, Trix/Marklin normally uses flywheel in the powerterrain, which in effect smoothens the acceleration/deceleration. But it also may decrease the pick speed, but then I do not run them for speed, but for the feel/look/performance, which this does perfectly. Any suggestions on my next loco which I want to buy as a steam one, then retro fit it to DCC?

Cheers
Shyam
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top