Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to buy one or more class 56. Is the Hornby and the Dapol model the same, or is one better than the other? Any advice would be gratefully received before I buy.

·
Premium Member
2,650 Posts
It would be fair to say that the Hornby version can be purchased new and currently has a 5 pole motor for improved performance and has the reliable Hornby running gear and pick ups. The current Hornby body printing and detailing standards are definitely much better with no blurriness of definition.

Dapol have not sold this model for 10 years and the Dapol version had the Mainline running gear.

Mainline, Dapol and Hornby all use the same body tooling.

I have no personal experience of the Dapol or Mainline examples.

Basically unless you have a need to pick up a specific loco livery and number made by Dapol or Mainline all those years ago I would stick with the Hornby one.

Happy modelling
Gary

·
Registered
72 Posts
I have recentley bought a Hornby 56 in Railfreight grey red stripe livery. I think it is a fantastic model. Excellent detail and crisp livery. Well impressed with the moulded roof detail. Nice and weighty too. As long as your not a 'rivet counter' then you won't be dissappointed.

·
Registered
213 Posts
QUOTE (Gary @ 1 Dec 2005, 09:10)currently has a 5 pole motor for improved performance and has the reliable Hornby running gear and pick ups.

Erm...,no it doesn't actually!,the Hornby model is exactly the same design as the Dapol version but with blackened wheel treads,though I was told by one of Hornby's engineers that the manufacturing tolerances were 'tightened up',-so in this respect,and the paint finish, it is improved,although no fundamental redesign of the tooling has actually taken place.

There,I've altered the wording so it reads better,-happy now Dennis?