Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Just another modeller
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (bicyclebob @ 17 Nov 2008, 05:10) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hello out there
I am new to the model rail environment except for buying an oval of track and basic locos etc for the kids years ago, anyway I recently found the old kit in the loft and decided to find out if i could upgrade to digital. Turns out no go due to type of loco but whilst in the shop decided to buy a pre used hornby digital mixed goods set to start me off.
The question is this after reading some of the comments in the threads on this forum, have I made the right choice? some of you guys are quite disparaging re Hornby and I am now worried about things like compatibility with other makes of decoders, (if I buy other locos) and the way forward with expanding the setup with the use of points decoders etc.
Any advice appreciated.
Regards
Rob

***Hello Rob

The simple answer is Nay: Its a good start but once the decision is taken to keep on with the hobby, I think you need to consider the future a little more. It will always be easy to upgrade when you are ready - the decoders will work OK with most controller brands.

There are several reasons for the Nay: The Select has a very bad waveform that makes it incompatible with many decoders, although it is better now than it was.... but it has really limited abilities.

On the upside, it got you started and it is cheap at least.

The Elite is now compatible properly (well done H), but operationally it is clumsy to work with compared to other brands and is for example really not as good as most others to operate if you want other than simple train control - it severely frustrates sound owners as it needs more than one button pushed to simply play a whistle.

As always its up to you, but if you have the choice, go for a full feature system like the NCE PowerCab which has excellent features and excellent expansion possibilities whithout breaking the bank.

RIchard

·