Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
Ok, I am a fan of class 37, always have been since a lad. I was intending to pick up 37114 at Calne Sunday but on a family day out today i managed to swing a quick visit to Lord & butler. They had a coal sector 37 with sound there on a demonstration track, under the control of Dynamis. I had a play for about 10 mmins and decided as they had done body swaps and I could get 37114 ready sound chipped it would do as I want it on show at Sodbury vale / Yate next Saturday. Save me half a job sort of.
So, i have entered the dark side of RTR sound!!!

First impressions.

Its not as quite as some have suggested. Its not bad at all really for one speaker. I will do some mods later and post pics etc, but a simple mod would be to remove the large black piece of plastic that sort of holds the fan in place. This is blocking alot of sound exiting via the fan. Myself, unless you are going to motorise the fan as Andy dell has done on his 56 etc, I dont see the difference in having the fan stuck in place somehow.
Anyway;

F0 lights, head lights on one end tail the other. I have sent **** Bryan some new 37/4 pcb to see if he can come up with the head/tail mods so they can be switched on / off indepentanly, but for now it will do.

F1 start up / shut down. - This sounds very much like the standard SWd mk 4 set up.
F2 single horn
f3 double horn - Not sure that these sound exactly the same as swd mk 4, will need to do comaprrison after second speaker is fitted to bachman class 37 sound chip.(later tonight)


f4 Fan- I find this an annoying sound and hardly use it.

F5 notch up


F6 Notch down


Now this is what swung the sale for me, and time. The notch up takes you from idle - mid range -top end thrash. With out using it, straight from the box bachmann;'s set up is all wrong, totaly crap infact.
you get the same initial take power and throttle back as with swd, but then with bachmanns setting its takes about 6 feet or more before any idle- mid range comes in. It looks totally wrong as a loco accelerates fairly fast with no sound of the engine doing anything other than tick over.

However, hit speed step 1 (128) and then f5, let the revs build and then take off and it looks alot more "real."


I think this is a featere that adds loads more play and realisum and is a feature the Swd version could do with???

F7 half speed, - again for me totally usless as on speed step 1 the thing crawls very slow anyway.

f8 Cab lights. - I will disconect one end and just keep the one cab light at the drivers end. Its a bit of a useless gimmick unless you operate in the dark.

f9 Buffer clash - same as SWd

F10 - coupling sound - same as swd.

no f11 or f12 but i suspect htey can be set to aux 1& 2 with function mapping?

I dont beleive the rtr sounds have been anywhere as good as the SWd / howes versions off the shelf, but this one is better. I will now be doing some chopping (chassis came from a 37 with oleo buffers) to replace the buffers, add ploughs, pipes and more mportantly, a second speaker in the tanks.

The choices are
one x 23 round
or
one x 20x40 standard esu speaker
or
one x dcc supplies modified 20x40
or
no 1 choice for this project i think, the Dcc supplies base reflex (uk versuion) speaker.

Shall report later.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE cant work out how to add photos on this forum, it does not seem as easy as others.
You are right, it isn't. A photo cannot be displayed in a post unless it already exists on the Internet - ie it has already been uploaded to some photo site such as photobucket, fotooptic. Once you have the URL, you can use the fourth icon from the right in the row above the edit box to add it to your post. I'm assuming that since you already post URLs for your videos you will have no problem capturing the URL for uploaded photos.

I look forward to seeing the pictures.

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
I'm still baffled about this dark side business. I would have thought the dark side was having faf around installing your own sound decoders instead of buying them ready installed as you can in the rest of the modelling world, or are you saying that Bachmann specifically aren't that great at sound? I thought SWD were involved in Bachmann's sound projects and therefore there wouldn't be much difference.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
QUOTE (neil_s_wood @ 20 Jan 2008, 21:13) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I'm still baffled about this dark side business. I would have thought the dark side was having faf around installing your own sound decoders instead of buying them ready installed as you can in the rest of the modelling world, or are you saying that Bachmann specifically aren't that great at sound? I thought SWD were involved in Bachmann's sound projects and therefore there wouldn't be much difference.

The dark side is rtr! Having said that, the 37 is very good. the Bachmann 20 on the other hand i dont like and my 66 are better than the rtr too. Not paid much attention to the 47 as its a class i am not fussed on.

SWd provide the sound files, but there are to bachman's spec so are different, hence no flange squeal or air release on the bachman rtr 37.

Breake squeal is on both.

Sorry, shall just be posting basic information on this forum from now on, its a bit over moderated for my liking.
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Tonyperks @ 20 Jan 2008, 23:28) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>where did you get your brake squeel from does this come on the swd kit?

***Most ESU decoders do have brake squeal available, however the settings of the decoder need tweaking to bring it into play...

It is dependent on settings for when it should act speed wise and can be adjusted against rate of speed change too.... a really hard read of the ESU LokSound manual will find the settings info for you.

If its one of the few sound files without it, it can always be added via the ESU LokProgrammer.

Piemanlarger - you can get some interesting changes in the effect U like by fiddling with momentum levels... rev changes and drifting effects can be quite interesting when you set longer momentum and then spin the throttle quickly... and as you've found manual notching can give great results if U play with it....

"Manual notching" is under appreciated as revs and effort are much more related than revs and speed - as you rightly pointed out.

Just read and note original setting before U fiddle...just in case


Regards

Richard
DCCconcepts
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
QUOTE (neil_s_wood @ 21 Jan 2008, 01:55) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>You weren't being moderated. I was just asking for clarification on a statement that seemed odd as most people would prefer to buy a loco that had sound already installed in it.

I was not refering to yourself Niel, sorry, should have nmade that clear, it was aimed at "Doug?"

I most definatly am not most people, i have 40+ sound locos I have done the installtion on myself, and now one Bachmann rtr sound loco, though if you see the posts on rmweb you will see there is aloot of work done to get the bachmann rtr cl 37 sopund loco operating and sounding much better.

I just cant to grips with adding pics on this forum for some reason, and having done it on rmweb, newrailway modellers and Demu, my pataince had run out.
I was told not to ask members to go from here to rmweb to see the photos, and told not to ask Richard if he sold Dynamis in general postying. Thats too much moderation for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
hi richard, i see you are on rmweb, there said it again!
Anyway, if you read my post (gone to the darkside) on rmweb, you will see the full story and I have indeed jigged Cv 3,4,5,6 from the original bachman settings, which are pants!!

Something for you to look at if your selling the sound chipped bachmann loco and dont want disapointed customers.

simon
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Piemanlarger, as I told you in a PM, it is very simple to add images and photos to posts. You just click the
button above the post box and paste the image URL. Or type the URL of the image in between the IMG tags

CODE


As it is stated in our rules (the ones that you agreed to when you signed up), we don't like the promotion of other forums. We don't mind linking occasionally to other sites for news or unique information, but to give a teaser members: "Look what I have here and to see the details come to this other forum..." is blatant promotion (in our eyes at least). It is not too difficult to post images so I don't see why members of this forum must go to another to see your work. I am sure that other forums share the same sentiment.

It is not over moderation. It is simply application of the rules. If you read them then you would understand. The reason that I'm washing this laundry in public is that you refuse to answer my PM and you chose to vent your issues here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
It would be great if there were only one forum, but thats never going to happen. As such, i find myself coming on here, which is in comparrison a quieter forum and re-posting the meesages I think I can help others with, in case they are not on other forums. I wonder how many members here only use this forum, and same for others. Most people seem to be on several?
I dont like PM, if I have something to say, i will say it to your face, in person or on the web, thats just me, nothing to hide.

Anyway, hope all is cleared up and back to the darkside, have two more sound instalations to perform today.

Simon
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
Hi Simon

Yes I'm in several places and have been a member of the other lot for a while but as far as forums go I choose to post mostly here... As it is I spend hours each day helping between prople who drop in and want help and respnding to fora/DCC e-lists and just can't spend more time somewhere else.

Re LokSound decoders there is so much more to be found by fiddling - with all those loco's, do U have the lokProgrammer??? You obviously enjoy the challenge of sound and would I think get on with it quite well.

Richard

PS: I think this place is a pleasant and relaxed place to be - with some good heads contributing.

Keep posting as I enjoy your contributions.

I too sometimes raise an eyebrow but all in all Doug & the moderators do a very good job keeping things level positive and pleasant for all.....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
I have not got a lokprogramer as yet Richard, but have thaught i may move towards it this year. My time can be short so i dont really have lots of spare time for programing, not sure i would be very good as pc and me dont mix well. My Swd chips do largley what i want them to do though sometimes I wish i had an easy way of swapping sound "A" from f key 6- 10 for example.

How easy are the loksound programmers to use?
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Piemanlarger @ 21 Jan 2008, 23:05) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>(edit) .....though sometimes I wish i had an easy way of swapping sound "A" from f key 6- 10 for example.

How easy are the loksound programmers to use?

As far as doing the function swaps and all the trimming of the files / function action / interreaction and loco decoder adjustments dead easy. a few ticks in boxes and save to decoder and its done....

it wil lalso read anw write CVs for other brand decoders, but just one at a time.

Creating sound files is a steep learning curve but the convenience of the decoder tweeking factor / easy setup and remapping makes it worthwhile..... especially with the number of sound decoders you have running!!

Richard
DCCconcepts
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE (Piemanlarger @ 21 Jan 2008, 21:40) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I most definatly am not most people, i have 40+ sound locos I have done the installtion on myself, and now one Bachmann rtr sound loco, though if you see the posts on rmweb you will see there is aloot of work done to get the bachmann rtr cl 37 sopund loco operating and sounding much better.

Ah I see. I have come at it from a different angle. I have over thirty sound locos but started with Continental and US outline where they were all ready installed. The sound on most of these have been satisfactory so I haven't had to tweak them much at all. The exceptions being the QSI decoders and the over synthesized sound on the PCM Y6b.

It's only more recently with the advent of UK steam sound that I have started installing in UK outline and in most cases it's not been hard and the results make it worthwhile. In your case, as Richard suggested, the LokProgrammer would not be a bad idea at all as it would all as it would allow you to improve, adjust and tweak sound on your decoders to a finer degree. You could also load your own sound on too. Lets face it thats what SWD are doing, it would be a skill worth picking up if you have a heavy investment in dcc sound. Who knows if you got good at it you could sell them too. There a huge gap in the market for UK DCC steam sound waiting to be filled
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top