Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 551 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yep it's me again, starting another project

Well here we go.
I'm converting an old hornby GWR 0-4-0 to a short tender loco.


The tender is a converted coal wagon that contains a plumbed in water tank and coal space.There will also be extra pickups in the 'tender' to improve slow running, with it also housing the decoder and capasitors (a Zimio MX64 (1.2A) OO/HO 'Wires only' decoder)

Thoughts and comments apprishieatd

Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (Makemineadouble @ 23 Oct 2009, 07:05) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Conversions like this are very common in On30. Go for it !


Thanks

This is loosely based on an artical i saw ages ago on the fact that on some of the "Pugs" they sometimes put a coal wahon on the back so they could run for longer.


Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
QUOTE (BRITHO @ 23 Oct 2009, 12:54) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Looks like you're trying to catch up with me for projects "on the go".
OH i've got loads more than is on here.
so let me see
  1. website
  2. model boats restoration
  3. Bike
  4. other school h/w
  5. Trefechan Cove
  6. The triang hall
and many more besides


QUOTE (60B @ 23 Oct 2009, 13:18) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Kiwi, how about adding a front leading axle to make it a 2-4-0. Many early railways used the arrangement, with the Great Eastern system using them right into BR days.

I thought about that but i can't seem to get it right


Thanks for all your kind comments

Regards

Kiwionrails

Many more projects on the way!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'm also in the process of (slowly) fitting all my locos with DCC.
The "GWR Tender 0-4-0" i'm going to fit a TCS T1 in the loco and have current pickup in the tender via a 2 Pin Micro Connector

For my other GWR 0-4-0 i'm thinking about installing the MX620 4 function 'wires only' 'N' decoder and then get the SPEIKOMP Un-interruptible Power supply kit.


For my Old Triang Dean Single i'll be fitting the Zimo MX63 (1.2A) 'Wires only' HO/OO decoder and again the SPEIKOMP Un-interruptible Power supply kit, it will also have pickups in the tender via a 2 Pin Micro Connector.

The Lima Small Prairie i'm going to fit the Lenz LE1025 that i have sitting at home.

Total for all decoders etc is..£113.65
OUCH!!


Looks like i've got some saving up to do


Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
In terms of the 0-4-0 i've been doing some detailing on it, such as fitting brass wire handrails
Before(well sort of, this is my other 0-4-0
)


And after(but i've still got some more work to do because i ran out of handrail knobs
)


I'm also planning to remove the whistle surround

Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Before the handrail Knobs ran out i decided to fit some to my Lima Small Prairie. I also test fitted the decoder with sellotape but i will not be fully fitting it until i get some 1.8mm LEDs to fit in the molded lamps(bottom Pic).

well here are some pics!















Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
QUOTE (shedmad66 @ 26 Oct 2009, 15:07) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Looks good Kiwi, like the spiplicity!
Thanks Shedman

As for simplicity, well it might have started off that way but
...


Remembering the fact that my layout is mostly track set in the dockside i thought that it might be an idea to add some brass angle skirts, they will be of soldered construction and enclose the wheels of both the loco and the "tender".

Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
QUOTE (shedmad66 @ 26 Oct 2009, 16:48) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hope you have decent solering iron then, or it will be a pain in the you know what other wise


Personally mine's rubbish but my dad has a good 15W and 25W and my mum has a really good 100W one that she uses for stained glass.


Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
I Got the LEDs today
For the back of the Small Prairie where is the position of the 3rd and forth tail lights, e.g. is the "alcove" on the back of the bunker one?
(top of photo)



Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Back to the 0-4-0 tender loco
For the tender, as mentioned preveosly i intend to use a wagon underframe for the tender. I was going to buy a cheapo old one off fleabay but i decided that i wouldn't have the heart to cut it up
. So i've decided to get this...

It's a "Peco R-20 9/10ft Underframe Kit". and only £3.75 + £1.50 P&P

in it's description it says:
Wonderful Wagon Underframe Kit. Incorporates the special features of the latest Mk IV kits in your own wagon building. This underframe kit includes a choice of either 9ft wooden type of 10ft metal type solebars, sprung metal buffers, working axlebox springs, accuratly detailed brake gear and mountings for two types of coupling. designed for use with Peco wheels, bearings and couplings all available seperately
I'd scrach build a body ontop usinf balsa(the planking) and plasitcard(the waer tank).


Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #22 ·
Back to the Prairie
I've installed the decoder and LEDs

Tail lights, independantly controlled, and amber LED for the firebox(on Lenz Decoders how do you get the "flicker" that you can on the TCS decoders.)



Unfortunaly you can still see the motor and wires thruogh the cab windows



Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #26 ·
I've just replaced the floor in the cab and removed the buffers and replaced them with the brass ones taken from the hall (they are mounted directly onto the buffer beam
)


Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #27 ·
Does anyone know how the prototype tenders where connected to the loco? I'm planning to try to get the connection between the loco and tender on the 0-4-0


Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #31 ·
I've been doing some more work on the 0-4-0

I've shortened the chassis


And the Body


And i've replaced the molded handrails with wire ones. I've also added 3 front headlights made out of 1.8mm LEDs with very fine wire glued on to simulate handrails
.(And yes i know they don't look as good as Richard's excellent ones but these are alot cheaper
, beacuse i'm on a limited budget
) I feel sorry for the team at DCC Concepts that have to solder up the lamps
because it's hard enough just gluing on the B*****
Handrails.
The old paint needs stripping then it can be painted!!(Unless i find something else to do to it
)
Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #32 ·
In terms of LEDs and resistors can you add one resistor to the blue wire that serves all the functions
(4 function decoder), the space in the 0-4-0 is VERY Tight


Thanks

Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #34 ·
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 14 Nov 2009, 13:39) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>***Hi
yes, one resistor on the blue wire is fine...
Re painting your lamps. Its easier if you paint them all over with a spray can of undercoat them spray all over black. When the paint is really dry, take a fine file and file the bump on the lens of the LED - you will end up with a perectly round circle thats not painted.
After filing, a tiny drop of gloss varnish on the front of the lens will restore the gloss.
regards
Richard

Thanks Richard
Will do, i could fit 4 resistors in but i need as much weight as possible(also less wiring
), and i'll be wiring the LEDs with the wire from a dismantled point motor

Regards

Kiwionrails
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #35 ·
I've finally decided to bite the bullet and install a decoder into my grandfather's old Bachmann CP Rail No.5004
It's a very staight forward installation because all i have to do iscut 2 wires and stick a decoder in the middle
BUT...
...I've decided i'm going to install full working lights, my question is where do they go and what colour are they.
I know about the cab, headcoe and tail lights but what are the double ones in between the headcoes and the other double one on the bonnet?
(if only one function is needed for all the above i'll be getting a TCS 6X)




More Pics

Regards

Kiwionrails
 
1 - 20 of 551 Posts
Top